1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bottlenecking

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Red_or_Dead, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. Red_or_Dead

    Red_or_Dead New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    76 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    YOU Knighted king-DOM
    ..... err..... I mean Bottlenecking :laugh:

    Is there any true way (with preferably a 1 click-solution) to find out what part of a computer bottlenecks another?

    (and please don't say WEI :wtf:) ... but, then again, is WEI a reasonable indication:confused:

    There are a lot of factors to system performance, so what can give real world answers in a simple straight forward answer?
     
  2. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,027 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    Vietnam
    underclock each component in turn. if the underclock does not affect performance by a great deal then one of the other components is bottlenecking you.

    On a side note, underclocking ram shouldn;t affect performance too much but cpu and gpu will.
     
  3. Red_or_Dead

    Red_or_Dead New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    76 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    YOU Knighted king-DOM
    not quite a 1-click solution though is it
     
  4. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    You can not determine a bottleneck with software. Software can not understand hardware limitations because there needs to be comparison data. Different equipment has far too many different ways to measure performance, so I would stop looking for a 1-click and start benching.
     
  5. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,027 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    Vietnam
    nope

    I'm sure you could benchmark the cpu and gpu independantly in something like 3dmark. but i don;t know if there are any guides around to match an ideal cpu score with your gpu score and vice-versa.

    I can answer your question though - Your gpu bottlenecks your cpu.

    The benchmark part of your sig made me :rolleyes:
     
  6. Swamp Monster

    Swamp Monster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    561 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Latvia
    You can run Task Manager in the background while playing game and some program that monitors GPU load percentage, like ATI Tray Tools or whatever. I know that's not one click solution, but it's Alt-Tab solution for CPU/GPU/RAM :)
     
  7. Red_or_Dead

    Red_or_Dead New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    76 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    YOU Knighted king-DOM
    a single 5850 will bottleneck a 980X, yes i know, gonna change to 6970 i reckon
     
  8. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,027 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    Vietnam
    the cpu would handlt CF 6970's without being a bottleneck in a lot of the newer games that support more than 2 cores, i would imagine.

    a 5850 to a 6970 is a nice step, however a second 5850 would serve you better.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/MSI/HD_6970_Lightning/23.html
     
  9. Red_or_Dead

    Red_or_Dead New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    76 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    YOU Knighted king-DOM
    prefer to stick to single card solution (single gpu)
     
  10. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,970 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,145
    Location:
    Mysore
    compare win 7 ratings :)
     
    Red_or_Dead says thanks.
  11. Red_or_Dead

    Red_or_Dead New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    76 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    YOU Knighted king-DOM
    thank you for your refreshing and insightful post :rolleyes:

    :laugh:
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,142 (11.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,412
    there is no one click solution, unfortunately. all you can do is mess around with various parts until you see the trend - EG, overclocking your GPU does nothing in a specific game, therefore, the GPU is not the limit.


    and yes, bottlenecks vary per app/game - so its utterly impossible to say "X will bottlneck you in everything" because a celeron wont bottleneck solitaire, and a radeon 4200 (massive ultra bottleneck plus!) wont slow down office 2007 or flash games
     
  13. Red_or_Dead

    Red_or_Dead New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    76 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    YOU Knighted king-DOM
    I think you kinda lost the plot a little bit there, and I'm not asking regarding my system in particular - my initial question has been answered I think, there is no 1 click solution but I think that is solely because of the CPU as it normally requires a BIOS adjustment to change the speed where GPU clocks can be done on the fly relatively easy

    I don't personally overclock or go for multi GPU set ups (It' makes what little brain I've got hurt, and it hurts enough already trying to think!!!!!)

    I was just curious as to "if" there was a solution possible, but it seems unlikely, it's all skeptical and "best guess" by comparison charts. There is no magic formulae - or is there? cheers.
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,142 (11.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,412
    thats what i said - there is no easy way to tell if any one program is bottlenecked by your hardware - and if it was, it doesnt mean the next program/game would be.
     
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,996 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,195
    Location:
    US
    True but there is tell tail signs.

    There is some times but it's no one click solution lol.. Like for example lockups without frame drops can be a great indication of cpu lag in fact noticed it with a few games in the past.

    Stalker was one game on my old 3800 x2 were the 2900xt was keeping up and the cpu could not handle it. Arma 2 is another were just overclocking of the CPU in my case from 2.8 to 3.2 will allow the game play at much higher settings.
     
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,280 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,216
    The answer is nothing can do what you want.

    Not only are there a lot of factors to system performance, but different programs and uses are affected by different parts of the computer.

    So for instance, a game might be bottlenecked by your Graphics Card, but encoding video might not use the graphics card at all so it is bottlenecked by your CPU.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6,148 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,808
    Location:
    Oregon
    What about Futuremark 3DMark11

    Doesn't it give you individual scores for most your components ?
     
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,280 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,216
    Unfortunately no, it only gives you CPU and GPU scores.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page