1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BSOD. i need help

Discussion in 'General Software' started by F1reFly, Apr 18, 2010.

  1. F1reFly

    F1reFly New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    227 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Indiana
    Windows 7 x64 home premium.

    just started today. within 4 hours i've had 3 BSOD's (irq not less or equal...blah,blah)
    only think i was doing was browsing web.
    My system is OC but has been stable for quite some time, just started this morning so i think theres another cause. I havnt installed any new drivers lately either.

    This is what critical error Even Log says.

    How do i open the DMP file so i can view more detail?
     
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Looks like a driver issue. I would reset to stock clocks/volts and start testing.
    Your OC may be stable, but if disk or memory corruption is occuring, you need to verify at stock settings.
     
  3. F1reFly

    F1reFly New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    227 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Indiana
    ok, i'll go to default....but how could a driver suddenly cause an issue for no reason? everythings been perfect until today. this is so odd, all i've done in the last 2 days was browse the web.
    i have Norton 360 protection.
    what should i test exactly?
     
  4. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I would start with simple stuff. Run chkdsk on the drive and do a quick RAM test to make sure all is well.
     
  5. F1reFly

    F1reFly New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    227 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Indiana
    when i get back from Ponderosa, i'll slap in my geeksquad MRI then Ultimate boot cd and get back to ya.
    Though i'm wondering, it may be faster in the long run to just reinstall windows...thats what i usually do with sudden problems and is why i keep all my games and other files on seperate drive.
     
  6. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    It's up to you. It may be something simple ,like a bad sector, and a reinstall would not be neccessary.
     
  7. F1reFly

    F1reFly New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    227 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Indiana
    didnt come up with anything, though i found i have a driver not installed for something called a "co processor" and windows cant find the driver. have no clue what it would be.
    think i'll just reinstall, this is taking too much time.
     
  8. bubje

    bubje New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Canary Islands
    download the latest amd chipset drivers
     
  9. F1reFly

    F1reFly New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    227 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Indiana
    i have intel, and i already installed those. i'll try reinstalling and see if it happens again.
    *edit: guess the co processor was the NV chipset and somehow went missing. i wonder how it deleted itself? i had it installed before, anyway back to stock clocks too so i'll hold off reinstall for now.
    thanks everyone
     
  10. bubje

    bubje New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Canary Islands
    I thought you were talking about your MSIG65 which has and chipset AMD® 790GX+SB750 and co-processor has to do with chipsetdrivers

    Thought so:)
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2010
  11. F1reFly

    F1reFly New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    227 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Indiana
    MSI G65 also has an Nvidia chipset version, the full model numbers are different but still G65 series. I mis typed before when i said "intel" i meant NV, dunno why i typed intel.

     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page