1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BSOD that does not restart?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by MxPhenom 216, Aug 7, 2011.

  1. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,225 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,393
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    So i have been repeatedly have overclocking issues with my classified board and its happened ever since i tried to overclock when i get my g. skill pi memory, but the thing is within 5 minutes of being at the desktop the system goes black and basically never turns back on so i have to hard reboot. (hold hte power butotn till it turns off and turn it back on) Is this an issue with the ram, if my cpu is at stock clocks and ram is at stick its fine, the second i try overclock to 3.6/3.8/4.0 all this crap happens.
     
  2. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    I had a few kits of GSkill and I find they are a fussy brand.

    They all needed more volts than what they were rated for , some clocked well some like dogs.
    I'd get testing the ram first, sure sounds like the problem to me.
     
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,714 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    a black screen crash is sometimes different than a BSOD. Did you see the screen flash? Also do you have the code?

    ProTip for ram issues with an OC....try other bios', if they fail as well, then buy new ram if you want to OC:s

    For what its worth, EVGA was more of a bench setup, good for awesome bursts, but not great over long term stability. Just my 2 pennies.
     
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,225 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,393
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    yeah i was considering ditching my classified and getting a asus p6x58 E pro or gigabyte UD3r.

    And no nothing it goes black and never comes back no code nothin

    EDIT: with getting a new board, one thing i dont know about is whether or not its really worth it since x58 is kind of a dieing breed
     
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,714 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    I would follow your sigs advise;)
     
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,225 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,393
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    go sandy bridge?

    yeah i think im going to jsut sit at stock clocks till september when bulldozer comes out and upgrade accordingly, who knows maybe bulldozer will be good or good enough to drop intel prices
     
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,714 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    agreed, if it runs stock, sit on your heels until you can get a good perspective.
     
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,225 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,393
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    alright thanks, I have a perfect SB setup planned already

    Core i5 2500k
    Asus P8P67 Deluxe or Gigabyte Z68-UD5(leaning towards Asus, but i like Gigabyte BIOS)
    Corsair 8gb Vengeance 1866mhz(Blue Anadized heat spreaders on newegg)

    And then depending on what happens with kepler and what not this year possible get a Evga GTX570 Classified
     
  9. Neuromancer

    Neuromancer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    379 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    South Jersey
    What?

    More details are needed if you want help solving your overclock related issues.

    IE, you never said it black screened at stock... so I assume this is a OC adventure.

    Black screen in my experience, is not always, but usually is GPU related.

    The problem with X58 platforms, is they are UBER forgiving. I was able to boot up my x58 system with a dead stick in the slot. And wondered why I had problems until I pulled the ram and tried one stick at a time.

    Try uninstalling video drivers, and then doing your overclocking.

    For instance I fought for two days with a new board, only to find out that my 580GTX, no longer functions properly in 3D mode. Wouldnt know it cause fresh OS install everything is great, get drivers installed and 5 minutes in, bam black screen (yes my monitor LED indicated it was still on).

    Swapped it to another PC, worked great until I installed drivers then it goes all wonky.


    So, when pushing BCLK and especially on the classy, you need to up the IOH core to 1.35-1.4 (more for extreme pushing, but htat should be fine for 200-220 BCLK)

    IOH 1.5v should be pushed to 1.6-1.65 when pasing 210 BCLK. (this is your PCIE clock)

    Last tid bit for classified, when passing 200 BCLK you may need to increase PCIE freq to 105+ extreme guys run 110+ to hit high BCLK.

    Gskill is a crap memory company, but there good stuff is good IME, their cheap stuff is complete crap and that is what most people buy.
     
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,225 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,393
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    it does not do it at stock and it does it with other drivers too
     
  11. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    One of two things.
    The motherboard doe not like the RAM or the RAM is just not that great at overclocking.

    Come across it before.

    Had some cheapo RAM and found the system could OC well with minimal effort.
    Changed to some apparently high performance stuff and I had to tweak and tweak to get a stable OC.
     
  12. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    728 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Can't you drop the ram multiplier to see the the rest is stable after OC?
     
  13. Neuromancer

    Neuromancer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    379 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Or switch GFX cards

    Cards are great till they die. Then it becomes a confusing mess.
     
  14. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,225 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,393
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    the graphics card is fine, runs all my games fine at 750mhz core. Graphics card is not the problem

    doesnt help, tried that with loose timings
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page