1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Buffalo Intros Tiny USB-Powered 3 Port Ethernet Switch

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 9, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Buffalo Japan rolled out a tiny, pocketable Ethernet switch in the LSW-TX-3EP/C. With three 10/100 Mbps ports to spare, the switch draws power from a USB port, or any other 5V DC source. The USB power input adds portability, letting you build a small LAN anywhere at higher and more reliable speeds than ad-hoc wireless networks. You can grab one for JPY 2280 (US $24.50) when it starts selling later this month.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Akihabara
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2009
  2. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,454 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Cool. I would certainly prefer this to ad-hoc wireless.
     
  3. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    cool beans
     
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,925 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,359
    shame its only 10/100mbps you want at least 10 through to 1000mbps...
     
  5. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    No matter the speed 100 is fine enough for anything. This is much better than carrying around a big router and the AC adapter for it. Specialy for those last minute mini lans.
     
  6. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    this looks like just what i need to network my crunching rigs when i get them running again. It would great to get the big POS that i am using now out
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. TAViX Guest

    yes, but...

    So you can connect in total 3 PC's. And with 2 of those, 5. Well is nice. To bad no 1GB/s ports for those who wants to tranfer big data.
     
  8. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    shit nevermind i thought it had a 3rd port. this would just be a waste of money then. i have a add-on card for another Ethernet
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. TAViX Guest

    I was mistaken. It has 2 output ports, so that means you can connect 3 PCs...I hope I'm not wrong...
     
  10. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i think your so maybe it would be useful to cut back on the cables
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Considering no hard drive is capable of transferring at the speeds of a 1000 router then there is no point unless your putting a heavy load besides many many files at once between multiple hard drives that could fill that pipe. So for something very small and very portable a 100 link would work just fine. Unless of course you have a few 256GB SSDs raided just for storage.
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    my samsung drives can do 110MB/s. theres your gigabit being maxed out, then and there.

    I think you're mistaking Mb and MB again.

    10Mb = 1.25MB
    100Mb = 12.5MB
    1000Mb = 125MB
     
  13. BOSE

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    271 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Wash DC
    This is perfect for simple and quick LAN/WAN sharing... or even testing.

    Im sure 1Gb will be out in no time.


    And yes, only 2 PC's at a time can share a connection.
     
  14. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    The file transfering speed is dependant on the speed of the slowest drive being used to transfer. Most platter drives have a sustained rate of about 80-90MB/s

    And your math must be wrong becasue i transfer way faster than that on a 10/100 network.
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    its not math. its fact. check your numbers again.
     
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Then your network is not 100Mb. The max throughput for 100Mb is 12.5MB/s. Remember, it's rated in bits, with a small b. There are 8 bits in a Byte (the upper-case B). Divide 100Mb by 8, and you get 12.5MB/s.

    Mussels' numbers are spot on for theoretical maxes, except, the overheads involved in networking, don't even allow you to achieve maximum throughput on the network, so the real world numbers are actually lower.

    I have a true Gb network, and I only usually get around 90MB/s throughtput, on the fastest sections of 2 RAID 0 arrays.
     
    AsRock says thanks.
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    you tend to get closer to 1/10th instead of 1/8th, so 100Mb gets you 10MB/s, and so on.

    On my gigabit network, i can read at 90-110MB/s, but its usually held back by whatever i'm writing to. (just because you have a raid 0 array to read off that can do 125MB/s, doesnt mean squat if you're writing to a drive that can only write at 60MB/s)
     
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Both of my arrays read/write around the same speeds. 90MB/s is about the best I can manage, even on the fastest parts of my arrays.
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    i'm running short cat 6 cables, which may be a boost to mine. i still get 90-110MB/s read off a single samsung, :p
     
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I'm running CAT6 as well, but one of my machines is on a 50ft run, and I run my router (DIR-655) and a 5 port unmanaged switch. Probably contributes to the slightly lower throughput.
     
  21. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,619 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    um, ok so this is just laning correct? only 2 pc's can connect correct? then why not just use a cross over ethernet from 1 pc ethernet port to the other pc's port instead of paying for this lil ethernet switch?
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    its 3 ports, two OTHER PC's can connect.

    You can use this with one going to a router, and two for the PC's - allows you to share intarwebs and such.

    admittedly you can do this with a regular switch, but this is more convenient using USB power, for a laptop user.
     
    a_ump says thanks.
  23. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,619 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    oh haha, i thought it was just usb cord in one end for power with the 2 ethernet ports for small LAN...(looks back over thread and "pics") course i just kinda read the part of only 2 computers and assumed only LAN lol.
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    yeah its three ports, not two. i think people got confused since the third is on the back near the USB cord.
     
  25. eastlake New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page