1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 Takes Advantage of DirectX 11, MSR List Out

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 4, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,959 (11.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Over the weekend, Activision released the minimum system requirements (MSR) list of its upcoming AAA title, Call of Duty: Black Ops 2, for the PC platform. The publisher maintains that with the new engine being designed for DirectX 11, the game will no longer support Windows XP, yet it can make do with DirectX 10 hardware running on newer operating systems (Windows Vista and above). All you need to run Black Ops 2 is:
    • Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 (2.66 GHz) or AMD Phenom X3 8750 (2.40 GHz), processor
    • 2 GB for 32-bit, 4 GB for 64-bit environments, memory
    • NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT 512 MB or ATI Radeon HD 3870 512 MB, video card
    • Windows Vista SP2 or Windows 7 or above, operating system
    [​IMG]

    Source: CallofDuty.com
     
  2. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    I knew they would come to their senses and not make simple rehashes.
     
  3. renz496

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    98 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    so is it based on entirely new graphic engine or did they just add dx11 to the same engine they used to make COD?
     
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,210 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,383
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    added some DX11 effect. Most likely just lighting stuff.
     
  5. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,972 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    So the original engine is DX9...they've just added DX11 effects to it.


    But it's now DX10 and no longer supports XP...:rolleyes:
     
  6. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,056 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,089
    This game engine has more things done to it than a post op tranny.


    I'll still check it out though.
     
  7. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    lmao.

    same here, I already pre-ordered it. I like CoD, didn't start playing until MW3 though so I guess I am not burned out or turned off by "the same old thing" that everyone else is.
     
  8. Isenstaedt

    Isenstaedt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    211 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    What? The 3870 is at least 2 times faster than the 8600 GT.
     
    caleb says thanks.
  9. washd123

    washd123 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I think they've actually done a good job with the IW3 engine I'd like to see what they could do with Source
     
  10. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,205 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    270
    "So the original engine is DX9...they've just added DX11 effects to it."

    No the original engine is something like DX7. It's been modified ever since.

    Its just another can of paint or wallpaper on the king of rehashes and archaic engines. The same thing the Quake 3 Arena engine has had since it launched.

    Course, even I gotta admit the staying power of that antique engine. Sure wish UT had done that. Still say UT99 engine was the best. Engines since have been great for licensing and a variety of uses but they've never been able to capture the fun of the original. Guess that is the difference with a game engine designed with FPS in mind vs a multipurpose engine.
     
  11. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,972 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    Irrelevant in that you don't need new hardware to play in DX9, i.e. cards that were released when DX7/8 were current can still play DX9.
     
  12. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,176 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Converting this tired FPS to be able to render using DX11 won't automatically make the game as epic as BF3.

    Its still a simple rehash. They just converted the existing dx9 render path to a DX11 one (in which is almost a straightforward approach). Still same old character meshes, still same old scripted railed events, and still same old kill streaks crap. Only difference is how the render is being brought to your screen.

    They didnt even state what specific dx11 effects they used. Most likely thye just replaced deprecated dx9 function calls and use dx11's equivalent function instead. Recompiled the code and state "Hey look! We made it dx11. Its hip and up to date! Buy it now PC Gamers!"
     
  13. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    I can get adding DX11 effects, alright. But no DX9 support? plain freaking stupid.
    That is not what we meant when we said "Appeal to PC gamers"
    Genius
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2012
  14. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    It's called optimization.











    :rolleyes:
     
  15. hardcore_gamer

    hardcore_gamer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    388 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    Location:
    Fabry Perot cavity,AlGaAs-GaAs Heterojunction
    It's called TWIMTBP-type optimization :laugh:.

    Back to the topic, from the trailer and gameplay videos , I didn't notice any improvements in graphics compared to previous CODs. It still looks outdated. This whole "DX11" thingy is just a prank. They are still light-years behind frostbite 2.
     
  16. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Think frostbite 2 is great? wait for Unreal Engine 4 and you're gonna see some serious shit
    :)
     
    Recus and Lionheart say thanks.
  17. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,284 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
  18. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,429 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,016
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Pics or it didn't happen.. lol Why can't they show some pics? I want to see some examples of the new "dx11 engine".. All the console players I know in rl said they are not buying this one because it's the same thing.. I laugh hard.. because I said that to them the last time, and they were like NO it's going to be great! Now they are seeing the light.. What really sucks is that if this COD doesn't do well.. Then they will blame it on it being futuristic, and not because it's the same shit.. and they will take us back to WW1.. lol I do like COD:WAW the most, but I'm ready for some futuristic shooters! I want BF 2143! I'll even take this futuristic shooter.. I just don't think I'll pay $59.99 for it on release.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,295 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,779
    Just to let everyone know this is just the Tech 3 engine (Quake 3) with a DX11 hook. Its not a new engine. This is what they call a gimmick to get lemmings to think the engine is new. Its not. This is all they added to the engine....


    Reveal mapping (improved texture blending)
    Improved lighting effects
    HDR lighting
    Bounce lighting
    Self-shadowing
    Intersecting shadows
    DirectX 11 for PC version
    "Zombies" moved to the multiplayer portion of the engine.
     
  20. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,284 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    I want some new COD/MOH in Afghanistan or Iraq. Current times. No more futuristic crap please. Or at least some more Covert OPS like the one in Ukraine during the Cold Wars...That was nice atmosphere...
     
  21. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,295 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,779
    Buy the new MOH. Problem solved.
     
  22. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,494 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    So your tellen me cod is no longer 100% recycled?
     
  23. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,035 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    NO! Its ALL 100% recycled!!
     
  24. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,494 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    Ok good ya had me worried for a sec.
     
  25. R_1

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    449 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Well, DX API is separate addition to the OS an should be possible to implement in Win XP. So that thingy "Call of Duty: Black Ops 2" should be 100% recycled from the old DX10 incompatible times. There is nothing new under the Sun in M$ camp, just usual stuff in front of new "wunderbar" OS release. I wish we had alternative gaming OS. Android FTW!
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page