1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

call of duty black ops issues

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Chyrak, Aug 1, 2012.

  1. Chyrak

    Chyrak New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    23 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Hi i am having some strange issues with the game call of duty black ops, I know its not the best or most optimised port. But my fps is dropping to below 20 for long periods of time using a GTX670 Gigabyte windforce x3 OC edition card :(. The problem is not consistant, for example i can run through building once fine, But then if i run through the same building a few minutes later it stutters really badly. It's not internet lag i already ruled that out its fps because i used fraps to test it. Does anyone know how to fix this? my system specs are in my..system specs thing. Help appreciated :toast:
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,060 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,965
    update drivers

    check your system processes, do a virus/malware scan, make sure you don't have anything using up your CPU
    Chyrak says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Chyrak

    Chyrak New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    23 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    I have tried all this my friend, I'm not a noob with pc's and electronics, No virus or malware found even did a boot time scan, I have only the processes i need running in the background, I have the latest drivers for everything, Even the 304.79 beta drivers from nvidia and yes i rolled back to the others but it made no difference either! :( I even looked into updating the Vbios on my card but there is not much difference for it. I'm at a complete loss here and im not sure what to try next.
  4. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    I would ad patch the game if it's not up to date. Black Ops is horrible on the CPU, check your GPU usage and you'll be amazed how low it is when your frames drop.
    Chyrak says thanks.
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,857 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,417
    How can you confim its not internet lag with Fraps?

    Does the single player do this also?
    Chyrak says thanks.
  6. Chyrak

    Chyrak New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    23 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    yes its also in singleplayer and zombies too! fraps dropped to the low 20's and crap daddy its on steam so its always up to date, I checked game cache files they are all fine. My internet is virgin media fibre optic 100 Mb my ping to most of europe is around 30-60 ms. It only seems to do this with black ops. I have deleted it reinstalled on steam, I have used driver sweeper to install fresh drivers nothing seems to fix it :/ It worked fine on my GTX480
  7. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,857 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,417
    Sounds like a driver issue then. When was the last time you did a clean install of the OS?
    Chyrak says thanks.
  8. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,060 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,965
    Ok, I know you said your not new to PCs, but you havent mentioned this. What are the temps your video card(the 670) is running at when this happenes.

    Just trying to help friend.
    Chyrak says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Chyrak

    Chyrak New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    23 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    4 days ago to see if it fixed the problem which it didn't :( I also did a fresh install when i got the card. I have the drivers set up for use advanced 3d settings, I have set it to maximum performance mode.
  10. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,857 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,417
    Leave the drivers at default. I bet thats your issue right there.

    Also what he said.
    Chyrak says thanks.
  11. Chyrak

    Chyrak New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    23 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    The temps are fine the card has a great cooler and my case has amazing airflow. its called the mealstrom from inwin. Temps idle at around 25 and never go over 60. tried leaving drivers on default no change :(

    EDIT: Sorry about all this lol. Maybe I should just give up playing it.
  12. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,060 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,965
    different drivers tried, temps good, clean OS and game install, game fully patched, virus/malware scans find nothing, other games play fine on GTX670, BO plays fine with GTX480. Man, I have no freaking idea then. :banghead:

    Don't be sorry. It's all good. Someone has to know the answer to your problem. Just a matter of that person finding this thread.

    Good Luck.
    Chyrak says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,857 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,417
    Well play BF3 instead. 10000000000000000000000000000000000000 times better.
    Chyrak says thanks.
  14. Chyrak

    Chyrak New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    23 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Well thanks for the help guys I have no idea either. :banghead: Hopefully someone else has experienced and fixed this problem .__.
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,857 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,417
    They did. They installed BF3. :laugh: Anyway good luck man!
  16. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,675 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    294
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,420 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,988
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ducky why are you posting that video on the CODBOII threads? I stopped watching after 30 seconds.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Finners

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    quick google suggests, disable shadows and/or disable the game recording feature by

    Typing /stoprecord into console at start of map

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page