1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can a lower power supply cause FPS/performance drop?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by amit_talkin, Dec 17, 2008.

  1. amit_talkin

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    129 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    India
    Hi friends,

    I have a quick question. I am sometimes getting very low FPS ( under 30 fps ) in Team Fortress 2. can it be a PSU? I have 400w PSU and running ATI HD 4850 on it. I know 400w is not enough, so I have ordered 650w PSU which will arrive soon. but before it come to home, let me know that is it true that lower power can drop FPS/performance in games?

    Amit
  2. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Yes and cause system instability, But other than your psu you have a nice system, what 650w psu have you ordered ? Even though it is rated @ 650w what are the amp on the 12v rails like.
  3. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    I agree system instability might occur such as crashing or random lock ups, but your frame rate will not improve!

    In some situations, a 400w power supply can be more efficient than 650w if there are more amps on the rails.
  4. Haytch

    Haytch New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Australia
    For sure. I wouldnt even get the 650w. I think its vital one has a strong heart in his/her pc.
    I think you should be aiming for an 850w+ with correct amp per rail, efficiency, stability and phase. These PSU's tend to be a little more expensive but i dont believe you can overkill the PSU :)
  5. EnglishLion

    EnglishLion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    461 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    No, you will not see a change in fps from a power supply. If it's a decent model then 400W will be OK, the new 650W should also be fine.

    The only problems due to power supply are instability, reduced overclockability and catastrophic failure (including fire)! ...but not drop on fps...
    Darren says thanks.
  6. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    You do not need 850+ watts for a 4850, this is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard, and you do not even need 850+ watts for crossfire 4870 X2.
    You made up the value of 850+ watts from the top of your head!

    Edit: Listen to EnglishLion, the frame rate will not increase, but a bad power supply can be dangerous.
  7. amit_talkin

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    129 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    India
    thnx for ur comments, the 650W PSU I have ordered is Antec NeoPower Blue. had read some reviews before ordering it..never read full review though, only read conclusion and found it good so ordered it :).

    p.s. I got silent data corruption and bad sectors on all of my HDDs..I m sure this is due to my PSU. I m gonna replace this soon.
  8. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,790 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    South Carolina
    That antec 650 should treat you well!!
  9. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    yea the antec should do ya just fine. heck the minimum to run a 4850 is a 450w PSU no joke says so right on the friggin box. 550w minimum for crossfire.

    whoever says you will see an FPS increase from a psu I need to have to what he's smokin.
    Darren says thanks.
  10. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    betcha it's really good stuff. If you get some... ill buy some from ya :roll:

    The 650w you bought is good, and you will be set for a good time.
  11. EnglishLion

    EnglishLion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    461 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    The specs on the box allow for huge amounts of give. After all they don't know what the rest of your system requires (type of CPU, no of HDD etc) and they don't know the quality of your PSU - some don't produce quite what they headline!

    So when they write the spec they err well on the side of caution.
  12. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    this is true but seriously most of the populous does only contain 1 hdd and at best 2 for raid.

    Also in the case of person who does have a 140w cpu you already damn well know they would get a higher grade psu than a 450w. pardon my lingo there.:p

    it's more a general consensus or like a bottom line like if your completely screwed and you needed the minimum amount psu to get it going.

    but still a lot of it is research though, if you don't do any R&D then your only digging yourself a hole. It's not Powercolor's or Sapphire's job to go out and figure out exactly what PSU's work with that card or not. Sorry if this sounds harsh.

    and yes there is probably going to be the 1 dude who buys a 450w and screws his system up because it wasn't quite up to snuff. You just RMA it back, not much else to that.
  13. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,246 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Yes. If you are running a game, and unplug your PSU, you will notice FPS drop to, approximately, zero.

    From your system specs, 400W is too low for your set up. If it was running, then great, but you are really pushing it and could suffer instability and possible HDD shut on write (not good).

    BUT, as others pointed out, it really shouldnt effect FPS in any way. It will work, or it will fail.

    Your 650W should do you fine.
  14. Damian^

    Damian^ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    552 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    If you count jitters , constant freezing, and even crashes as a drop in FPS, then yes :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page