1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can I run Battlefield 2 on my parents computer?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by floridajerseyguy, Dec 15, 2008.

  1. floridajerseyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Can I run BF2 on my parents computer which is a dell dimesdions 8400 intel pentium 4 cpu 3.20GHZ 3.19 GHZ, 512 of ram? Will the PCI express x 16 run BF2? I think it is called ATI Radeon X300 SE but I am not sure? Any advice? Can I do it on this system. The reqs page on EA says "Video card must have 128 MB or more memory and one of the following chipsets: NVIDIA GeForce FX 5700 or greater / ATI Radeon 8500 or greater".
     
  2. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    It will run

    Not well but will run
     
  3. blobster21

    blobster21

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    311 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    Vandoeuvre - France
    your parents said "no", so don't bother asking :)

    honnestly you'll have to lower most settings to get an acceptable framerate, and 512megs is simply not enough for those kind of texture intensive games.
     
  4. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    Sorry, but you need a new system buddy. :(
     
  5. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Well, I know that the X300 is a tad better than an FX5700, but it really wont' run worth a crap. Maybe 800x600 with all low settings.
     
  6. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    It does run. Thats all he wants to know.
     
  7. Wozzer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,133 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    England
    Why'd you mention BF2. Now your making me install it again...:)

    But it this way, I was playing BF2 with the following specs;

    Intel Celeron 1.7GHz
    64MB Graphics card (Later changed to 128MB - Arent I hardcore).
    1 GB RAM

    It ran fine on Karkland (A map), but only with 16 MAX players. I Suggest you hit a new GFX card in and some extra RAM.
     
  8. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,176 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    sure it is work , but not on high setting , many boots is ok
     
  9. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Yea it should defintely work i used to run it on a celeron D 2.4ghz and an Ati 9550 ok
     
  10. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    is it the 64 bit version of the x300
     
  11. floridajerseyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    HEy GUYs, TY For THA HeLP. IT SeeMS LiKE I am going to have to BUy A new one?

    IS this the best I could do for dirt cheap? ......

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883107700

    Is this the best for that $$$$$(I want this as cheap as possible)......



    HP Pavilion A6530F(KQ496AA)
    Phenom X3 8450(2.1GHz)
    4GB DDR2 640GB NVIDIA GeForce 6150
    SE Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit

    Service Net Desktop PC Onsite Extended Warranty Plan
    Desktops serviced via onsite repair or by authorized repair facility if applicable. All shipping charges are covered

    Service Net Desktop PC Onsite Extended Warranty 2 year plan: $69.99
    Subtotal: $489.99
    Extended Warranty Fee: $69.99
    Shipping: $24.99
    Promo Code: -$70.00
    Instant - $150.00

    Grand Total: $514.97
     
  12. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Scotland
    That pc has inegrated graphics, no better than your current one. If you know how to upgrade to a better graphics card then I would advise getting a cheap second hand nvidia 8600gt or something, maybe a 4670 but it will probably be bottlenecked by the p4. I wouldn't be so drasic to buy a whole new pc just to play bf2.
     
  13. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    pair that computer up with a video card and it will fly
     
  14. floridajerseyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    TY for all the help everyone. I am thankful to have so many resources to find advice. I am thinking of just Upgrading my parents PC with a cheap range quality GPU. How's the one below?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121235

    Would this card be compatible with my current setup at my parents house? If I could Find a cheap GPU that was compatible with my dell dimesdions 8400 intel pentium 4 cpu 3.20GHZ 3.19 GHZ, 512 of ram I would definately buy it to improve the system I have now. Is the one I picked ok or is there somthing better in the $30 price range? Do I need to get something better?
     
  15. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Yes but on low settings.
     
  16. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    i think it will run fine. i had a laptop with a 2.0 mentium m and radeon 9600 video card, i played with medium high settings. the x300 is pretty close to the 9600.
     
  17. floridajerseyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    If I am going to buy something, I want my game to run medium to well as far as game speed and res. I am open to any suggestions and advice on how to match up my new GPU with my old dell dimesions 8400 setup previously listed as the setup at my rents house. I want enough power to run BF2 online well to avoid lag problems. Also does anyone suggest new memory for my BF2 applications?
     
  18. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    i would suggest trying it out first before you buy anything. i know BF2 will run, i'm not sure if it will run with as much eye candy as you want. for ram you need 1.5 gigs atleast, bf2 will use almost a gig by itself.
     
  19. fafa21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    377 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    U.S.A. maine portland
    hey it will run i used to have pentium 4 cpu 2.8 GHZ , 512 of ram and ATI Radeon X300 SE and it ran fine i could play online and everything. i could even play 2142 at all low settings
     
  20. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    he should be able to run it at pretty good settings.
    I had a 3400+ and an onboard x200 and was able to play battlefield 2142 pretty easily.
     
  21. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    if you do my a new computer, make sure it has enough room in it for a modern graphics card, at least 9 inches
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2008
  22. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    If you buy a computer, forget about the extended service plans and warranties, they are a waste of money. use the money you save by not getting a service plan to get a better pc, or a gfx card. :) try and stear clear of hp's.. :\
     
  23. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,189 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    823
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    that 8400gs is equally crappy like your 300se. Get atleast 8600gt or get this one

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131066

    this 2600xt will serve you well. I have this card and it gives me around 94 FPS on almost all maps on 1280 * 1024 high settings. ofcourse I am feeding it with a Phenom 9500 (not the greatest one tho).

    And oh when you are buying the card you better upgrade your system's mem to 2 gb atleast or else there will be nothing but lag.
     
  24. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    Well, I took the liberty of going to newegg and configuring a system for you to build. It totals out to $592 shipped - $85 in mail in rebates. so a final cost of about $507. it's not hard to build a system. if you can follow directions and turn a screw driver, you're all set. the basic run down of the setup is as follows: COOLER MASTER Centurion 590 and add 4x XIGMATEK XSF-F1251 120mm Case Fans for some serious cooling power. The Foxconn A7DA-S AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard with an AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 3.1GHz Socket AM2 89W Dual-Core CPU, CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit, SAMSUNG 22X DVD Burner Black SATA, OCZ ModXStream Pro OCZ500MXSP 500W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply, Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive, and a POWERCOLOR AX3870 512MD3-PH Radeon HD 3870 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card. Anyone wish to comment or add or remove from this selection or any constructive criticism? I think this system will keep you gaming happily with some very decent gameplay and eye candy for a couple years. :)
     
  25. floridajerseyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    OK I c. Some say get a better card (e.g. Radeon HD 2600XT or better). Other say run it and see how it runs. I honestly think that this dell I am using now is too weak to support this game due to past virus damage. The computer is just a shadow of what it was when we bought it due to all the virus and spyware programs that were there. Then my mom lost her mind and paid $150 to get the thing "fixed". The guy ran registry cleaning programs through his PC into my hard drive to clean it up but for 150-250 the computer could have been upgraded to run like a new one.

    So I wanna spend maybe $50-$80 on a GPU or mem to get most bang for buck on the dell. I am also trying to build my own PC sometime in the next year or so. ATM I have too many other more things that need money (a.k.a. bills & bitches).

    Thanks for that input bluefox. I will think about that, but keep in mind that I want my FTB to have O/C capability. I am trying to learn how to build, mod, and O/C. I have been focusing on the basics for system builds and am going to try to start learning the basics of O/C. The stickies are great so far.

    Swami TY for that link. I appreciate the extra effort of putting all that together for me. I will consider that as an option to improve my parents' dell. Do you have any suggestions as far as mem sticks go? Also how do you know that the card is compatible with my current mobo? I am not suggesting that it isn't compatible. I am asking because I want to learn how to select my own GPU based on compatablity and performace, not just one or the other. For that matter, how do I know what to look for in mem compatabilty either?

    Last but not least ty to 3870, fafa, and ranger. You guys all gave me something to think about and I am happy to get all the advice from everyone.

    Now I think I will run BF2 with the current setup and see. Then if upgrades are needed I will need to know what mem and/or GPU to use to upgrade the rents PC. Thanks again to everyone that took the time to add.
     
    Bluefox1115 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page