1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can I SLI with my PSU?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Castiel, Sep 26, 2008.

  1. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    I'm kinda of a n00b when It comes to power supplies, I just buy one that has enough juice in it. So I am planning on SLI(ing) 9600GT's. And I was wandering If I can with all the hardware and power supply I have. On Extreme PSU Calculator it says that I will be able to run all with a 430w, but I was wanting to make sure. The type of PSU I have is a Antec NeoPower 650w. And the rest of my hardware is in my specs.

    Here is a link for the PSU.Thanks!
    http://www.antec.com/us/productDetails.php?ProdID=28651
     
  2. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    It'll be fine.

    [​IMG]

    52A (624w/12v) combined output on the 12v rail. Itll power most systems.
     
    Castiel says thanks.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    Absolutely! You should have no problems power.
     
    Castiel says thanks.
  4. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Now if I plan on OC my cpu to at most 2.8GHz will it still be ok? My CPU is a Energy Efficient, so It only takes like 65w to power it?
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    You should be able to overclock everything in your system as far as it will go with your PSU.
     
    Castiel says thanks.
  6. wolf2009 Guest

    No problem , I can Xfire a HD4850 and HD4870 , which consume a lot more power , with my Ultra X 600W Pro . 9600GT's should be nothing
     
  7. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    You have the same PSU? Or did you just grab this off of google images?
     
  8. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    A review on the net done by overclockersclub. But it is the same PSU. The antec link didnt give combined output, which I wanted to check.
     
  9. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Ahh, ok. Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page