1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can some one help me get my ram to run at the right speed

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by FlclAdam12, Apr 3, 2009.

  1. FlclAdam12

    FlclAdam12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    99 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    Can some one help me with voltages/ram timings

    Hi, I'm pretty new to over clocking, and i need help to make my DDR3 1600 run at 1600 without making my system unstable. When i have set it to 1600 i got blue screens occasionally and yesterday while running a cache stress test in everest it cause me to blue screen in seconds. I have under clocked my ram to 1066 which it defaults to in bios (even tho its rated for 1600), then the blue screens stopped and i was able to stress my cache with no failure. When i had it running at 1600 my timings were 7-7-7-24 1t @ 1.64 volts (couldn't get to 1.65, only 1.64 or 1.66) which it is advertised to run at. So is this a hardware issue or should i have changed some other settings?

    Thanks.
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2009
  2. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Try increasing the QPI/DRAM voltage a bit. The QPI/DRAM voltage should always try to be within .5v of the DRAM voltage.
  3. FlclAdam12

    FlclAdam12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    99 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    put my qpi/dram to 1.65 and dram bus voltage to 1.64 and it failed the test. also idk if this matters but when i put it at 1600 it runs at 1603(801mhz).
    Please help.
  4. FlclAdam12

    FlclAdam12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    99 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    Well i set my timings at 8-8-8-24 and it is perfectly stable now. I have never really messed around with my voltages before so can some one please help me to get my ram to run at 7-7-7-24 without the stability issues?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page