1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can this system max out older games?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by OrbitzXT, Nov 27, 2007.

  1. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    I ordered this system for a friend and it will be here thursday for me to assemble, he was on a tight budget but I figured this system would be good for his needs. He doesn't play anything new, mainly some older games like WoW, Counter Strike Source, WC3. Will he be able to max out the graphics at 1680x1050 resolution for these older games do you think?
     
  2. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    WC3 definately, WoW, most definately, I run it at highest settings, 1680x1050, and the only thing affecting my fps is ping rates. Dunno bout CSS, haven't played it in ages, but it should be easy enough to get highest settings with the 3850.
     
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
  3. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    That thing can easily max all the games listed.
     
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
  4. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    That system will play those three games with ease. Remember, the HD3850 is better than an X1950XT; my X1950 PRO plays the above games totally maxed out with 100+ FPS (not sure about WoW, dont play it).

    Note: I play on 1280x1024, but I don't think the higher resolution will make a difference, seeing as im getting such high frame rates.
     
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
  5. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    Thanks for all the info, I think he'll be pleased with this system considering its low price of $600.
     
  6. kreaturekodeyellow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    All that for only $600, makes me feel like I wasted money for my machine.
     
  7. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    you need a different psu, rosewill psus= not so good...
     
  8. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,408 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    AZ
    agreed 100% and theres no point in getting aboard with onboard video if you plan to put another gpu in there.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130123

    (just a quick search through the egg, don't chastise me if you don't like it, I spent less than 1 minute picking it out lol)
     
  9. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Ya... I agree...
     
  10. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Yea, go with a different PSU.. and for about 40 bucks more you can go Intel with this:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116052
    e2180, 2.0ghz and will stomp the Brisbane... and overclocks! It's 90 bucks.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128059
    Gigabyte P35 board... 90 bucks.

    The forty bucks might not be in your budget, but building a brand new AMD system now just isn't worth it. You will see a huge boost in performance when going with this, and also considering the P35 has support for Penryn and Crossfire, you're future-proofed!
     
  11. PR1M3R New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    yakima, washington
    Thats actually a nice system. That will play just about anything out right now with very playable frame rates. Although as mentioned, I would change the PSU for a PC Power and Cooling or similar.

    And as Forester mentioned above, Intel might perform a little better for your dollar right now. (no fanboyism here I'm on my first Intel system in 5 years or so.)
     
  12. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    I agree. PC Power and Cooling are great power supplies, but the only problem with them is that they're expensive. They're well worth the dollar IMO.
     
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ahem... he said ordered not ordering.
    Personally I think it's just fine, and Rosewill is a pretty good psu manufacturer. It's just that they're a new brand and people tend to stick with the known good ones like Enermax and Silverstone.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Hat, you're right. I guess I should learn to read. But in the first place, why ask if a system is good after ordering? That's pretty pointless. Research comes first, not after :laugh:
     
  15. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    He did ask before.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    You just contradicted yourself. But I'm assuming you mean he's already asked in a different thread. Either way, I misread the topic, and he's already ordered the parts.
     
  17. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yes, different thred.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,279 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,563
    lol no, beacuse older games dont work with widescreen :p (wow and CSS do work fine wide, however) since he needed a PC, i'll assume he's not techincal - basically, the older games would have been better with a 4:3 screen (non widescreen) because they are going to stretch to fit and not look that good.

    Specs/power wise, its good enough for modern games tho - THEY will run just peachy at 1680x1050
     
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,708 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    Excellent choices man! Personally I would of waited for the 512mb 3850's with that monitor.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page