1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can you help me wire this fan controller to a cpu fan?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by NONYA, Jan 11, 2008.

  1. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    I have this leftover cp fan and i want to place it under my vcard to provide extra cooling,my fan controller has an extra output so I want to wire them together,fan is 4 wire,harness is 3,anyone know how to wire this so the fan controller will control fan speed?
    [​IMG]
  2. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    You can cut off the connectors and connect all the matching wires EXCEPT the blue one.
    Use crimp connectors or just twist and tape. Or you may be able to get an adapter.

    :toast:
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i'd just get a better cpu fan. it will have the connector you need and will cool a lot better, even at lower speeds. the stock intel cooler doesn't do too good.
  4. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    The wire colors arnt all the same,do you know how they match up?What is the bue one for?,im using this fan to cool a vid card,i have a power cooler 7 for my cpu
  5. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    dont risk a crossed wire messing up your card, just go buy a $2 case fan that plugs rite in.
  6. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    It isnt wired to my card,its wired to my fan controller,I got it working,all i needed was black to black and red to fan yellow,works good,spewing cool air over my vid card cant be a bad thing!
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Why did you do this again?

    Take a pic for me I wanna see how you set this up.
  8. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    I reversed the fan and radiator on the unit that came with my intel chip,added a lil rtv blue and mounted it where the fan can blow cool air over the intake on the card,is there a program that monitors card temp?
    [​IMG]
  9. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,549 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    At first i thought you had the fan mounted to the card....

    But actually thats a pretty nice Mac Gyver Mod.

    You could just pull the fan a part, underneath the sticker, and see where each wire goes.
  10. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Seems to be working,I have the card OCed to almost 1.4 ghz and it only gets to 38 degrees so far.
  11. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,087 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,363
    Move them hard discs down so they are in front of the case fan on the front of the case,if you can.They will get quite warm with no cooling.

    You may be able to put them in the mounts revered,so the wires are towards the fan,it makes them look tidier.
  12. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    mmmm,ill try dat,thanx.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page