1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

choices

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Killer_Rubber_Ducky, Jun 4, 2012.

  1. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,337 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    hey guys i understand. i just do not have fraps or similar but if it is needed to contribute i will do whatever...

    At the moment, I can say it is fine and fluid on MP. BF3 is MP! So if htere is no commandline fps counting option i will try to satisfy your inquiries otherwise...
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yes there is

    render.drawfps 1
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,337 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Cool! Going to run it now and see if I am satisfied with underperforming FPS or if it is all fine.... Nervous ;)
     
  4. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Well I generally don't monitor my FPS either can tell you I get incredibly smooth frames at essentially "Ultra" (all except shadows) incl. 4x MSAA on a GTX 480 at 1200P. Enough VRAM is a big factor; I use just about my full 1520MB in this game at those settings. My two 1GB 6850s which bench slightly faster could only handle High plus 2x MSAA though this engine's MSAA runs a lot more efficiently on Nvidia cards for some reason. My frames can drop as low as 35 at times but it still always feels very smooth and playable.

    Though were I in your shoes I'd probably get one 7850 now and another when I could afford it. Two of those are probably my next setup, for the record.
     
  5. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,337 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Back from testing... No, wait, will run another testrun at 64 players urban maps... :)
     
  6. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    This seems a reasonable advice. An overclocked 7850 will give around Wrigleyvillain's performance. It also has 2GB of VRAM which helps in this particular case. But on the other hand a 7850 is not a card to keep more than a year, maybe even less.
     
    Wrigleyvillain says thanks.
  7. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,337 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    ok, on the port map (karg island) with lots of containers... 39-40 fps, some peaks up or down, but i do not notice...
    the Caspian border map (50 players) a bit more 40-45 fps

    For me personally it is enough, I don't feel like needing more, but you can try to convince me, a 670 or 680 i do not dislike :)

    Edit: Crapdaddy: i appreciate your comments as always... but I have a rule: update every 2 generations. A card for less than a year is not an option to me. (I am not into online selling, should try one day :) but for now I keep all my old cards at home...
     
    Crap Daddy says thanks.
  8. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    For some reason I end up doing the same. But following your rule it's time you get a 670 and the same goes for the OP.
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky and erixx say thanks.
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Are you using MSAA, AF, or HBAO?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,337 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    All settings on ultra, and
    MSAA = 4
    AF = 16
    HBAO = on
    AAPost = high
    M Blur = on
    All this is the ultra preset not mine.

    ah, vSync on, 1920x1080, 60 Mhz and that's all on the Video page ;)
     
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I am still skeptical due to the fact a 560TI 2GB out performs the 470 by atleast 15% and I cannot even play those settings without FPS tanking.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Try 1600 cl8 1.6v. See what happens. May have a little bit of instability on the IMC.
     
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I highly doubt its a memory timing issue. I have set 1600Mhz CL7 1.65V and seen no difference. The settings he is suggesting would require a 680+ to see playable FPS. This game is a HOG when it comes to FPS
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Ahh I think I know what's up! Remember how there is talk of BF3 auto-adjusting itself to accomadate vram buffer? I think that's what is happenning in your case. Wish I had BF3 to compare.
     
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    But I have 2GB of Vram compared to his 1.25GB?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Exactly, my thinking since you have more vram it will load in more textures, an "if it's it there use it" scenario. Then again, I haven't messed with BF3 so might be talking out my butt LOL
     
  17. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah...and a sudden "fps tank" would seem to indicate running out of VRAM and having to swap to system memory. I got similar behavior trying to run the game with only 4GB RAM as well. Be fine for a little well then BAM 8-12 FPS and not recovering. I am not sure about this "auto-adjusting". I have heard this claimed in the past but I can't say I have ever witnessed anything that suggests such truly happens. And if it did, sudden then constant low fps theoretically wouldn't be an issue for anyone.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  18. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,337 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2012
  19. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,337 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Brandon? Off to tweaking? I would be doing the same like a demon on steroids.
     
  20. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    ok I have ~800 to work with after paying my bills. Which card should I be getting. I dont want to kill my entire cash flow in one hit. so, not over 400 if I can help it. So in reality, I have 400 to work with.

    how about this? I can go as high as 410 free ship.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127675
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2012
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2012
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I do not have a 560TI anymore, I have a 6950 2gb Unlocked.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    :) Yup yup. How is that thing running for you btw?
     
  24. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Good, I gamed one close quarters last night for a while and loved it :)

    670 hands down death. We talked about this on teamspeak LOL
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page