1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer shuts down as soon as it starts (P5N-E SLI)...

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Nick259, Apr 15, 2012.

  1. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,093 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    707
    Location:
    Rochester area
    [​IMG]
    bentpin ^^
    Nick259 says thanks.
  2. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    i should probably sleep.
  3. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Scotland
    Sorry I can't see the one you're talking about. Would it be too much hastle to download the pic and circle it in paint?

    EDIT: sorry i'm a dumbass I see it marked now. I'll try and fiddle with it now.
  4. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,093 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    707
    Location:
    Rochester area
  5. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Scotland
  6. user21

    user21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    282 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Peshawar
    try bending a bit fixing this pin to align the grid properly may be its messing around.
    [​IMG]
  7. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,093 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    707
    Location:
    Rochester area
    better >
    they don't need to be perfect but you don't want them to overlap when in the DOWN position
    Don't push down on END OF THE PIN them and don't pry up on the END OF THE PIN if you can help it they break ever so easily
    Nick259 says thanks.
  8. Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    76 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    msi overclocked hd 6850 (power edition), works fine on my low end 450w ordinary psu by Intex then why the heck would be 520w not enough to run 5850.
  9. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Scotland
    I had it connected it up to my corsair HX 520W power supply (spare psu just upgraded to an antec HCG 750w) and when I switched it on after fiddling with that pin it just sparked and there was a sort of burning smell. Then I plugged it into my pc and it booted it up fine, just came back after dinner to test it again and there was another spark. I'm pretty sure the power supply is fucked, i'm not testing it out on my pc again as I don't want to destroy it. Shit...

    A PSU that I was about to sell for £40 blown testing a shitty faulty motherboard worth nothing. Dammit. What are the chances that the PSU is still ok?

    Sorry guys just venting here i'm a bit pissed off atm.

    EDIT: There wasn't any smoke if that makes a difference?
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2012
  10. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    348 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Netherlands

    Try to test the PSU with the paperclip trick. Don't put the paperclip in while the PSU is on! See whether the PSU turns on or not.

    And if you still want to test the motherboard, this may be handy for testing the pins. But I guess it's time to buy an other socket 775 motherboard, it's much safer this way. How much did your friend pay for that nForce 590 SLI motherboard? Anyway, try to find a used Intel 965P, P35 or P45 chipset based socket 775 motherboard, e.g. this Asrock P5B-DE.
    Nick259 says thanks.
  11. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ok using the paperclip test it sparks and then the fan begins to spin. I switched it off as soon as it sparked so i'm not sure what would happen after that.

    Currently i'm looking at the G41 motherboards as they seem to be ~£30 and have DDR3 support.
  12. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,093 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    707
    Location:
    Rochester area
    mmm once the mystery smoke escapes theres no putting it back in
    Nick259 says thanks.
  13. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Scotland
    There's no smoke but I think you're right :(
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,555 (10.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,071
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I don't think just that one pin could kill a PSU unless is a no name psu without any circuit protection. I have grounded Molex 12V before by mistake and it just shuts the PSU off.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,093 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    707
    Location:
    Rochester area
    if it was a power pin and it shorted the VRM out it could have :eek:
    if that happened he has a dead board AND A dead psu :(

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page