1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

computer turns on for a second then off in loop?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Live OR Die, Jan 24, 2014.

  1. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,860 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    My rigs doing a power up loop if i remove the 8pin it stays on its a watercooled loop the board worked fijlne when it was in my old case.
  2. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,035 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    I don't know what would have caused it, but have you tried clearing CMOS?
  3. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,274 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,193
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    remove 8 pins?
    you remove from your board?
  4. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,860 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Yep cleared cmos.

    8 pin power connector.
  5. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    706 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    PSU overdrawing? Just a thought.
  6. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,860 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    I dont think its that its brand new and I did test it a month back and acts the same when just the boards plugged in, would it do this if say a clear cmos button was stuck down?
  7. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    7,989 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,084
    Reseat your RAM, and pull/disconnect everything else from the board and try it. Do you have a beeper attached?
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  8. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,860 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    It doesn't stay on long enough for the beep to sound.
  9. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    7,989 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,084
    PSU or short issue then.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  10. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,860 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    I really think that mite be the back pcb the one with the led screen the clear cmos button is broken and seems stuck, its the only thing that been touched the system booted fine before filling it with water.
  11. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    7,989 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,084
    wiggle it around. Are you sure your CPU bracket isn't touching or shorting out on the back of the board?
    Live OR Die says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  12. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,860 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Ive tired to losen the button with no luck its only thin plastic, im using the ek backplate so the bracket should be in the same spot.
  13. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,761 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    654
    Location:
    South Carolina
    That's usually a overclocked memory problem when that happens.

    Remove your cmos battery for a minute and replace.
  14. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,860 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    :banghead: well i took my old impact out because im sending it off to get the button fixed, I went and brought a new one as ill just sell the other one when i get it back, So i installed the EK AIO water block onto the new board and i'm getting the same problem again, Its not the PSU i tried another and no change.
  15. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,860 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Seems the screws are to tight that hold the block on after loosing them hand tight......... the system now will post.
  16. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,761 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    559
    Location:
    New York
    Nice job! Yeah it get a bit tricky on just how tight shall I go. If there are springs involved then never compress them all the way.
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2014
    Live OR Die says thanks.
  17. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,860 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Thats a nice idea i mite pick some up that fit the problem is there are none and the screws are loose but it shouldn't be a problem because it mount on other parts of the board as well.
  18. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,761 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    559
    Location:
    New York
    What type of block do you have?
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    Man nice trouble shooting! I had an issue years ago when I was new to PC building and I ended up replacing the following.....PSU, GPU, MOBO all to find out it was a bad Crossfire bridge. lol.

    It was a valuable lesson for me. I should have listen to my old man who told me "First check if its plugged in. Then if its got power chances are its something simple you missed." Ever since then I go through a system with a fine tooth comb before I replace any hardware. My old man is a pain in the ass but he used to work in avionics and has a electrical engineering degree. Sadly I didn't inherit his brains. Just his love of loose woman and booze.

    Anyway......Nice job on finding out it was the screws. I probably would have missed that one.
    Live OR Die says thanks.
  20. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,860 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    EK AIO block for the impact like below but mine hasn't got the gay rings on it lol.

    [​IMG]
  21. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    384 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Location:
    Canada
    I guess we can call it... cock rings ! yyeeaaaahhhhhh
  22. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,860 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Well been running my system for 24hours installed windows then thought ill try those screws again so i did them up and it booted but after around 30min i got a random reset twice so i un-did them again and been playing rust for 3 hours no problems.
  23. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,761 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    559
    Location:
    New York
    Well maybe some nylon washers for the tops and bottoms of the screws would sort it that, just a shot in the dark.
  24. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,860 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Yer im going to try spring on the screws 1st as it on the back which i can get to i dont really want to pull it apart again its sucks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page