1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CONFUSED? TRIFIRE Question

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Nitro-Max, Mar 19, 2008.

  1. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    Im kinda confused i have a 3870x2 if i wanted to go tri-fire and add a standard 3870 how would it work? if you crossfire normally the fastest card will run at the slowest cards settings but how can this work in tri-fire?

    3870 X2 825mhz / 1800mhz ddr3
    3870 725mhz / 2250mhz ddr4

    What card will default at what clock speeds / memory speeds? cos either way one either has to go up or down lol? like i said CONFUSED:banghead:

    would it just end up like 725mhz/1800mhz ?
     
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Probably run at 725x1800. Focus on OCing the 3870 core to 825 and the X2's memory to somewhere in the 2000s.
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  3. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    Ye seems weird having to lower preformance to gain preformance?? ill probably end up going quad to save the hassle but if a cheap 3870 comes up in the mean time i maybe tempted just the clocks are confusing really.
     
  4. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Yeah, that and the fact that it's a mix of GDDR3 and GDDR4.
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    The HD 3870 stock clock is 777 I thought?
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  6. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    725 does sound a bit low.
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  7. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    Nope the lowest ive seen is 725mhz the rest must be overclocked versions

    The reason i asked this is cos my friends been running a 3870 in his evga nvidia board he only got it to put him on till the Gx2 release and streaght away today hes got his on order {he must be crazy at £434.74!!} But i may get his 3870 very very cheap {mate rate}:toast:
     
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    No on new egg all of them are 775mhz at stock. OC'd varients are around 800.
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  9. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    Yep you was right lol i was actually looking at a 3850 DOH!!:banghead:
     
  10. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    I was gonna say lol 725mhz to 825mhz isnt a small overclock lol on a gpu 775 to 825 is more like it.
     
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Even then, those are around 668mhz I thought :confused:
     
  12. Bytor

    Bytor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,051 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Core is at 777 stock, I get mine to 850/1350 easy.
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  13. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    I started using the tri-fire a week ago when I found discovered that it was getting better results than the Quad-fire 3870x2s, darn drivers. On the Maximus Extreme, the 3870 was slightly blocking the x2's fan & the darn thing heated up like a lightbulb. I know that was normal but I hated having the thing vent upto 75C b4 the fan went to work.

    I had to take the red cover off of my 3870x2 & strap a TT 120mm fan to it, those things blow like crazy. It idled on 30/32 & never went above 50/56 :rockout:

    I also had to switch everything back to my Maximus Formula cause the 3870x2 now took up 3 pci slots. I just used some CF memory to assess for the lost of the DDR3.

    Anyway I just OC to the same speeds. All of my cards are Diamond & all have unlocked so its np for me. But even the locked 3870s can clock upto 825 easily.

    This driver crap really got me :banghead: WHY is a '3870x3' setup faster than 2 3870x2s. I guess we gotta be in this mess for the longrun.
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  14. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    even my 3850 will overclock from 668/1600 to 825/2000 easily, your in the clear man
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  15. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,449 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,154
    crossfire x doesn't reduce/match clocks, it splits the load up in a certain way that no matter what the clocks/memory sizes are, each card is contributing 100% of what is has to offer.
    case and point: crossfire 3850 and 3870x2. does the x2 clock down and only use half of its memory? no. the drivers split up the workload efficiently enough that this doesn't need to occur.
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  16. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    Thats pretty much SLI territory now. Regular crossfire had that problem; if you CF or SLI an OC card & a stock card, the OC card run at the stock settings. Thats still true for SLI but I can't pound that out of my head for CFx yet :p
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  17. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    The new crossfire drivers make each card run individually to produce results. Each card may run at its own frequency and memory type and not cause any problems.
    The regular 3870 runs faster because of the bottleneck (not sure what the bottleneck is exactly) of using the fourth x2, so pretty much you are running faster because of the gddr4 memory vs gddr3 memory, although altogether it is all bottlenecked.
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  18. CY:G

    CY:G New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    173 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Do you guys know where to find some Benchmarks for Triple CrossfireX, i have searched everywhere on google and i can only find one done my LegitReviews.com which is ok but they only test 2 games....

    Im thinking of buying a 3870 once i find a cheap one...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page