1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair H50 pump strength

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by cdawall, Mar 9, 2011.

  1. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    how strong is the pump on the corsair H50 was looking at plumbing in the stock 120, MCR320, tube res and 4 VGA blocks. will the pump be able to handle that? obviously i will be using 1/4 tube since thats what the pump and rad have barbs for.

    i have a spare H50 thats why i am asking...its cooling

    SPECS
    Phenom 910 C2 @3.5ghz
    Asus CH3F
    2x2GB mixed DDR3
    2xHD3870X2's
    3x250GB 2.5" seagates in raid 0
    Corsair 650w

    found some thermaltake VGA blocks for $4.99ea they should be good enough just looking for better than stock noise and water will help with the room being very hot during the summer.
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,493 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,908
    I highly doubt it without knowing the specifications. After doing a bit of Googling, the pump is pretty weak in its current setup already.
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    yea thats pretty much what XS was saying :/ guess i will have to hunt down a DDC 3.2 or something
  4. BeepBeep2

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    236 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Rads aren't very restrictive in general.
    Unless flow was already pretty low, adding a larger rad should help.

    As for those thermaltake blocks... :wtf:

    I would make sure they aren't aluminum, and dont have alu tops or anything silly like that.
  5. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    It could probably work but the performance would be terrible. With a 320 rad and 4!! gpu blocks you will need to be moving a large volume of water. Which will really need 1/2" tubing or 3/8" min. You would need a lot of pressure to move enough liquid using 1/4in tubing. I doubt even a good DDC pump could do it with 1/4in tubing. Simply because of the volume.
  6. BeepBeep2

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    236 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Tubing has no effect on temperatures, nor is it as restrictive as one may think ;)
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    The thermaltake blocks are copper+acetal and the pump according to reviews only pushes .29gpm the ddc is .8gpm and has 10x the head pressure...
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
    cdawall if you have a good air cooler Ill trade you my H50 as a backup.
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    Lol just going to run the stock h50 as the cpu and I have a ddc 3.2 on the way will order the thermaltake blocks next paycheck got till xmas to build this one lol :)
  10. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I am going to disagree with you here tubing can be restrictive . My reason for saying this is simple 1/4" tubing is smaller than 1/2" tubing when you shrink the diameter of the tubing it becomes more restrictive ( It will make a pump work harder to send liquid through the lines ) , I do however agree that it will not affect temps no matter what tubing is used .
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @cdawall

    Very interesting project, will state though. I can see a 120.2 mod but cooling cpu only. What you have planned is asking quite alot.


    @Trickson

    Couldn't agree with you more.
  12. BeepBeep2

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    236 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    I didn't say it wasn't restrictive at all, I was just saying that it won't be restrictive enough to affect temps in any case for this type of application. It's restrictive, yes.
  13. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Tubing size will have a huge effect on temps if he is trying to cool 4 x gpus.
    He will need a large volume of liquid moving around and I don't beleive 1/4in tubing would handle it. I am only speaking from a logical point of view, I have never had 4 gpus water cooled before. :) The wife would kill me ;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page