1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair Launches Ultra-High Performance Dominator GT Family for AMD Phenom II CPUs

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 29, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,416 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,615
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Corsair, a worldwide leader in high-performance computer and flash memory products, today announced the new Dominator GT line of ultra-high performance DDR3 memory modules, designed specifically for AMD Phenom II processor-based platforms using Socket AM3 motherboards.

    The new 4GB (2 x 2GB) Dominator GT memory kit has been precision engineered to operate at a frequency of 1600MHz with ultra low-latency timings of 6-6-6-18 and a Command Rate of 1T. These settings are a perfect match for the latest, high-performance Socket AM3 AMD Phenom II processors, which feature an advanced, low-latency, integrated DDR3 memory controller.

    [​IMG]

    "Corsair's Dominator line has long been the memory of choice for PC enthusiasts and gamers," said Jim Carlton, VP of Marketing at Corsair. "The new Dominator GT family for platforms with AM3-based AMD Phenom II processors delivers even greater levels of performance, as well as enhanced cooling options, making it the perfect memory for anyone looking for the fastest possible performance from their AM3 AMD Phenom II processor-based system."

    Testing in the Corsair Lab using an AMD Phenom II X4 Black Edition processor and Asus Crosshair formula motherboard has shown average performance improvements of up to 20% when using the 1600MHz CAS 6 Dominator GT memory, when compared to standard 1333MHz DDR3 memory.

    The 1600MHz CAS 6 Dominator GT kit for AM3 platforms with AMD Phenom II processors also utilizes the new DHX+ heatsink, which uniquely cools both the memory ICs and PCB, and includes removable cooling fins that allow for advanced cooling devices to be fitted. These include the recently announced Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H30 water-block and Ice Series T30 thermo-electric memory cooler, which can cool the modules up to 20 degrees C below ambient temperature for extreme overclocking performance.

    The 1600MHz CAS 6 Dominator GT also supports AMD's Black Edition Memory Profiles (B.E.M.P), which allows for the aggressive latency settings to be automatically configured in Windows using the AMD OverDrive software utility.

    "We are thrilled to see Corsair offer the Dominator line exclusively for socket AM3 platforms featuring AMD Phenom II processors," stated Bob Grim, senior manager, Client Product Marketing, AMD. "And in supporting Black Edition Memory Profiles, Corsair can help take overclockers to the next level by utilizing intelligent, dynamic profiles rather than simple SPD parameters."

    In addition to the 1600MHz CAS 6 Dominator GT, Corsair will be offering very limited quantities of hand-screened, hand-tuned, extreme performance modules in both lower speed grades and latencies. These new modules compliment Corsair's currently available lineup of performance-matched twin-packs of Dominator and XMS DDR3 memory modules, which are also fully compatible with AM3 AMD Phenom II processor-based platforms.

    Because the complexity in screening, manufacturing and testing, the 1600MHz CAS 6 Dominator GT kit will be available only through the exclusive Corsair Performance Store at www.corsair.com, which also stocks the full range of Corsair Cooling options for the Dominator GT family.
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,913 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    DDR1600 at CAS6 is pretty good, espically with 1T. What's the voltage?

    Although I see the marketing BS coming up here too with BEMP
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. steelkane

    steelkane New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,370 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I always look @ Corsair & G-Skill first. I was also thinking about putting together a Phenom II, The prices are to low to pass up.
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    Corsair makes awesome PSU's but I've found their memory to be kinda crappy. I wonder if the DDR3's are any better than the DDR2's.
  5. Fx

    Fx

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    503 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    crappy memory?..you have got to be kidding. Corsair is top notch for memory. that being said, they release quirky modules just like everyone else from time to time

    when it comes to components - you shouldnt shop by brand but by model
  6. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,744 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Norway
    dude marketing BS with BEMP?, load up AMD OverDrive, run BEMP and you got you memory setup perfectly by the manufacturer ;P
  7. roofsniper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    i might check these out when i go am3. my last corsair dominators i used couldnt even run stock settings or voltage on my amd system but my ocz is running fine.
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    Not really man. I personally have had 4+ bad sticks from them. I stopped using them. Hell I even think Shadowfold had a couple.
  9. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,310 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    I've ran into a lot of compatibility problems with DDR2 Dominators in the past. I am also skipping Corsair products nowdays.
  10. Fx

    Fx

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    503 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    was it the same model type? four different models? I have ran corsair for memory for years on many builds with no problems before ever hearing that they made kickass psu's

    the first bad module I ever had was when I tried crucial ballistix
  11. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    crappy memory? are you serious?
  12. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    See guys. Its not just me.
  13. Ammugonevil

    Ammugonevil New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    177 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Hell, deepest, darkest
    TBH i did have 3 failures on my last build which were patriots.. however they were under Corsairs warrenty and they replaced them...... havent failed again though...I still love Corsair though....
  14. Fx

    Fx

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    503 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    sounds like you guys need to do more thorough research before buying. check the reviews for particular models. example:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145224

    it looks like they were doing something right with this model. 94% averaged out from 231 people

    yet here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145198

    I wouldnt think about ordering this. you cant just stereotype brands based upon a model#
  15. Ammugonevil

    Ammugonevil New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    177 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Hell, deepest, darkest
    Dude I got the end of a bad batch thats different to lack of research.... but you do have a point...
  16. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,310 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    And since you obviously do not know where I ran across the problems (That would be in my buddy's computer shop, and it wasn't an isolated incident, heck, he all but stopped bringing in Corsair memory as of late because of problems) I'll safely ignore the statement.
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2009
  17. Fx

    Fx

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    503 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    sorry, I dont understand your grammar here and you arent stating many details

    everyone here, ofcourse, will have their preference in brands for every type of component. I am just rebutting the assumption that corsair has crap memory with facts - not opinions
  18. Ammugonevil

    Ammugonevil New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    177 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Hell, deepest, darkest
    That sounds bad dude.. Ive used corsair for years me and my mates would swear by them....
  19. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,310 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    I apologize, I fixed the post up a bit (I shouldn't watch Dollhouse and type at the same time, I don't make much sense). However, this isn't an opinion either, but fact: Systems would refuse to POST with modules at their rated speeds/timing/voltage, systems would refuse to remain stable even with the RAM underclocked and overvolted. All of that did not happen even when el-cheapo A-Data RAM was used instead (Nor with any other memory that was found in stock, which was an assortment of Mushkins, G.Skills, OCZs, A-Datas and Transcends). I know it was a compatibility problem because those sets of sticks were eventually sold in some builds where they worked, but that took a while and was a pain in the ass (Hence why he doesn't carry Corsair memory anymore). I can find up the precise model names and build specifics if you really like, but that'd require digging through paperwork to find the repair/build reports in my buddy's shop.

    I am not saying all their memory is faulty, nor that all their memory is substandard. I am saying that a few incidents with their higher-end DDR2 memory meant that I'd rather spend my money elsewhere - My free time is expensive.
  20. Fx

    Fx

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    503 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    ahh, sounds much more clear =] well, I can definitely see why you would be geared toward other brands now cause that sounded like it was frustrating. you bring up a good point though. even though a model can have a good quality rating there can still be compatability issues with a particular mobo for example

    Ammugonevil made a good point about bad batches also... I guess I have always been lucky with Corsair concerning that :)

    what was the brand of that mobo btw? I normally run with ASUS and recently have been using Gigabyte
  21. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    One of the best

    Corsair is one of, if not, the best RAM makers I know. Between me and people who's computers I have built, I am over at least 16 sticks from them. Not one failed.

    All I can say is shit happens. Get the RAM you like, but Corsair will be one of my top picks for RAM.

    In fact, I was waiting for this exact product. :laugh:
  22. Ammugonevil

    Ammugonevil New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    177 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Hell, deepest, darkest
    The laughing mans got a point.. now do as he says and kidnap a goverment official and make him admit to the whole world of his short commings
  23. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Little late on the bandwagon.

    These where actualy announced in the last Dominator GT post. And i remember discussing with another member about them. Great ram, great timings, but shitty price.

    Im not paying over 300 bucks for something my G.Skill can do. And i only paid 100 for them.
  24. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Their RMA is fast at least :p

    All I know is that it's great to see ram companies release dual channel kits. I had a hard time finding anything decent when I was in the market.. Ended up just getting some high cas gskills because they were cheap.
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2009
  25. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Woo Hoo! Its about FUDGING TIME! HA HA! I wonder if these will be a bit cheaper than the tri channel kit for Core I7

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page