1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

cpu bottleneck the reason for low fps?

Discussion in 'Games' started by Sc1mitar, Aug 2, 2007.

  1. Sc1mitar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    134 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Edmonton
    I got a 8800GTS to replace my x800GTO the other day, but im only getting like 30-50 fps in CS:S on all maps, @ 1280x1024, with most settings high, and 4x AA. I was getting like 70-80 fps wit my old x800GTO on the same settings. is the rest of my computer bottlenecking that 8800 to the extent that its worse than my x800GTO???

    And im getting medium fps in bf2 as well, only around 50-60 avg on all settings high@1280x1024 wit dyn.light+shadows turned off and 8xAA.

    wtf up wit that? I just got this card as a placeholder till next summer when im going to get a whole new comp, and i wanted a bit more performance out of my old rig. i really dont seem to be getting it though... :banghead:

    ps; using nvida 162.18 drivers if that means anything, and yes i installed the new drivers properly.
     
  2. Oliver_FF

    Oliver_FF New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    546 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Yes, you CPU will be bottlenecking your 8800 :(

    So, did you remember to remove the ATi drivers before doing the Nvidia ones? :p
     
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    The fact that it is performing worse than the X800, points to a driver or power issue. What psu do you have?

    And yes, your card is bottlenecked by your cpu, but it will still outperform the X800.
     
  4. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    The 8800 series of cards are very CPU dependant so your 3200+ will be severely bottlenecking it Im afraid.

    Have you tried the following:

    1) make sure youve uninstalled all of the ATi drivers (ie CCC)

    2) install the most recent nVIDIA driver (not the one that would come on a CD with the card)

    3) a fresh install of CSS

    4) make sure your PSU is upto the job (like Wile E said)
     
  5. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    You will need to OC your CPU to at least 2.5GHz and run your DDR400 @ DDR500 (assuming it can handle that) In lamens terms your VC is a raving lunatic thats being shackled by a slow CPU and memory.
     
  6. Sc1mitar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    134 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Im running an Antec 500W psu. Its running 17A on the 12v+ rail and 17 on the 12v- rail if that means anything.

    I Used drivercleaner and cleaned out all possible ATI drivers, and i installed 162.18 drivers.

    My goddamn BIOS wont let me OC my CPU. No matter what i do it just resets it back to stock 2.0GHZ.

    The CS:S install is fine, just reinstalled it. Same with the BF2 install, theyre both fresh, etc.

    Maybe its the power supply? I talked to a bud of mine who builds computers and is a networking consultant and he said a 500w should do it ok.
     
  7. bassmasta Guest

    if your mobo won't let you oc... are you on a dell/acer/compaq/hp/whathaveyou? throw it out, get a custom or build one.
     
  8. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    17 amp on the +12 volt line :eek: Is that a multiple rail psu? If not....you're 8800gts is starved for power.
     
  9. Sc1mitar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    134 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Edmonton
    yeah my bad theres a +12v1 and a +12v2 rail on it, both with 17A.
     
  10. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    who built your system? sounds like you might need to try and see if it will acept a new cpu.. but than as ketexx said your ram is neckign it too... thats what happened to me too when I bought my 1900gt.. it was faster than my p4 3.0 with generic ram.. than I found this site while planning on building a new computer :)

    Save up some money... buy all new parts... build it yourself "find" a copy of Xp than sell your current rig with the 800series card.
     
  11. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,260 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,598
    Location:
    Florida

    ditto ouch dude
     
  12. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,588 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    i think its a bit of all of the above, low amps on your psu, cpu/ram bottlenecked and duff drivers.


    the source engine is also very cpu heavy and that wont be helping too.


    i used to get 55fps in the vid test at 1200/1000 all settings high with my semp 3400 @2.4ghz with 1 gb ddr400, i upgraded to a e4300 @3ghz and 2gb ddr800 and i now get 150fps with the same gpu.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page