1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crysis 2 - Upgrade or keep?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by squelchy451, Jul 27, 2011.

  1. squelchy451 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    70 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi

    I have
    i3 540
    Asus P7H55D Evo
    4GB DDR3
    600W PSU
    ATi 4870 1GB

    Would this run Crysis 2 on med/high settings at 1440x900?

    Thanks
     
  2. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,732 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    No, you need a new CPU. I'd suggest getting a new motherboard so you could go Sandybridge.
     
  3. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    588 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Keep it! and YES it would run on high settings on that resolution :)

    not DX11 though
     
    LordJummy says thanks.
  4. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    keep it .you have dx10 supporting gpu .so no point in upgrading .you can play everything @ high settings using your current setup .
     
    LordJummy says thanks.
  5. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,046
    Keep it. In fact you can install the high res pack since it's a 1G 4870 and play very smoothly at your resolution. And it looks very nice with the high res pack and the latest patch even in DX9.
     
  6. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,830 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    You may need to change the graphics card if your frame rate tanks a bit. Also, you'll need to change it if you want DX11 - and on this game it's bloody awesome.
     
  7. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,187 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,979
    Location:
    Home
    Since that you have the rig, why not give it a try?
     
  8. squelchy451 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    70 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I don't have access to it at a moment and I'm thinking about upgrading and selling it to one of my friends who doesn't game too much (just minecraft, original Starcraft, etc)
     
  9. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Getting a more powerful GPU will make difference as i have an i3 aswell,and i have seen difference in games from my 5750 with my i3 compared to now with my i3 and GTX460.
     
  10. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    746 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    the i3 540 is in some games faster than a phenom 2 x4, if you oc the cpu to 4ghz with aftermarket cooler it will fast as hell, you can run the game on ultra w/ texture pack no dx11

    hd4870 is a bit faster than my gtx275 and runs smooth on ultra and texture pack and my res is 1920x1080p
     
  11. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Scotland
    When I ran crysis on 2 my old 4870 1gb it ran at about 40-50fps on very high settings at 1920x1080 so you'll be able to run it fine on extreme (perhaps with some on ultra) at 1440x900. This was with a phenom 2 x4 3.2ghz and 4gb ddr3.
     
  12. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,038 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,260
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    the hd4870 is not faster then gtx275. HD4870~GTX260 Core 216 != GTX275

    If the GTX260 and HD4870 are basically the same performance, give or take 5%, then the GTX275 is faster then the HD4870 because it is quite a bit faster then the GTX260, and not to mention Crysis 2 is even more friendly to Nvidia cards then Crysis 1 was
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2011
  13. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    Like some members say you can run it at mid setting on DX9.
     
  14. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Keep the rig. Upgrade the GPU if you want to run at super high framerates. It will be playable with everything you have.
     
  15. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Location:
    Australia
    Your system should run it on medium settings i would think. So id keep it TBH.

    I get MIN 40FPS and a MAX of 110FPS with my current set up with all settings to MAX.
     
  16. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,142 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    I'm sure having an i7-2600k has nothing to do with that. Plus as someone else said, the 4870 is not slightly faster than the GTX275, but rather the GTX260 which is noticably weaker.

    You could probably get away with running it in DX9 on medium, but if you wanted to play it at it's best, you'd need a stronger GPU and probably a stronger CPU as that is a dual-core (I believe) and is rather limited as such.
     
  17. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    348 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi,

    well, keep the cpu (if it comes to Crysis 2) and perhaps consider upgrading to HD6950/70 or Geforce GTX 560ti/570, if you really want to play the game at the higher graphical settings.

    The i3 540's performance is pretty good in Crysis 2 thanks to the game's engine being optimized for multithreading/hyperthreading: http://www.techspot.com/review/379-crysis-2-performance/page8.html
    [​IMG]
    source: http://www.techspot.com/

    And there's also a gpu-scaling between other gpus and the HD4890 which is essentially an overclocked Hd4870 with 1GB videoram:
    - gpu scaling: high quality;
    - gpu scaling: very high quality;
    - gpu scaling: extreme quality.
     
  18. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,046
    The 4870 is below the GTX275 in every aspect. The 275 was in competition with amd's best offering the 4890 and performed on par or even better. I had a 275 oced to 732 core which performed on par with a 285 stock, Crysis 2 high res pack at 1680x1050 played above 40FPS all maxed paired with the 2500K at 4.2GHz. The performance hit with Crysis 2 comes at DX11 which is not the case here.
     
  19. dirtyferret

    dirtyferret New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    93 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    plains
    you are totally clue-less
     
  20. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Just upgrade GPU for DX11 if you really want to play Crysis 2. My mate's got the same-ish setup as mine and he runs it on Ultra 1440x900 DX11 with High-res pack and a GTX470.
    He's got the same CPU as me and it runs gorgeous. You're CPU seems to be better than his.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page