1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DDR and DDR2 support at the same time?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by hat, Jun 18, 2007.

  1. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,176 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,191
    Location:
    Ohio
    I was wondering... on a motherboard such as the ASROCK 4core DUAL-VSTA, if you could run DDR and DDR2 memory at the same time?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Na, you cant.
     
  3. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    Nope, you cannot..........only one type at the time, obviously choose the DDR2 type since it's better than DDR.
     
  4. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    I would use the DDR. It's cheaper :D
     
  5. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    :roll:
     
  6. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    I'm serious...really, I am
     
  7. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    DDR is not cheaper.
     
  8. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    it depends on the brand...
     
  9. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    The only way you can use ddr and ddr2 at the same time is if you have ddr2 or ddr1 modules on your motherboard and then buy a pci ram drive that will take ddr1 or ddr2 modules. Kind of a lame way to do it, but it is possible!

    BTW, ddr is much more expensive than ddr2 here in central texas. We're talking in store prices of $84.99 for 2gb ddr2 or $149 for 2gb ddr1. Value ram too, mind you.
     
  10. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
  11. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,651 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    Real interesting board but sounds kinda shitty in terms of OC'ing.
     
  12. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    It's trash for OCing.

    DRAM Voltage options:
    Low
    Medium
    High

    :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page