1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DFI Launches LANPARTY UT NF680i LT SLI-T2R Series

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Apr 3, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    It looks like that DFI Corp. has released new motherboard featuring NVIDIA's nForce 680i LT SLI chipset and NVIDIA MCP55P southbridge. The LANPARTY UT NF680i LT SLI-T2R mainboard supports all Intel Core2 Duo/Quad/Extreme, Pentium D and Intel Pentium 4 processors with 1333/1066/800MHz FSB. There are also 3x PCI Express x16 slots: two x16 slots for SLI and one x8 for future physics cards. Click here to read the full motherboard specs.

    [​IMG]

    Source: DFI USA
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    658 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    :confused: i thought the biggest thing lost in with the 680i lt chipset was the 3rd pci-e slot :confused:

    it also seems to have dual gigabit networking, the other major thing lost with the 680i lt...
     
  3. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    board has a piss poor bad design layout. imagine trying to put ANY half decent graphics card in that bottom slot for physics, you just cant :\ not in any normal size case, an probably slightly larger cases too.
     
  4. tofu

    tofu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    484 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    GTA
    :laugh: I've seen you use Piss Poor to describe DFI mobos far too many times :laugh:

    What's with the hating? :confused:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I think it's laid out perfectly fine. The only thing I would question is the placement of the other 2 SATA ports, though that isn't a problem for probably 80% of all users, as they just don't have that many SATA drives. And the 3rd card would fit in my case just fine, and if you look at other boards with 3 16x PCIe slots, they're pretty much all laid out that way. If it doesn't fit in your case, it's time for a better case I say.
     
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    22,159 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,064
    The layout is fine, you don't use decent cards for physics, the whole idea is to take low or medium range cards(with single slot coolers) and use them. You don't need an 8800GTX doing physics. Remember, the 680i LT isn't even supposed to have a third PCI-E slot.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Borden

    Borden New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albania
  8. Protius New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,411 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Wonderful Ohio
    das hawt
     
  9. 0V3CHKiN New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    75 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Sweet Jesus! :D
     
  10. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,298 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I think the layout is pretty decent. 2 Slots in between each PCI-Express, so it's nice. And you don't use high-end, dual-slot cards for Physics, so I think 1 is enough for the bottom PCI-Express x8.
     
  11. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Dude, where else would you put it? This is by far the best design I think that 4x slot should be 16x too... So you go an 7950GT is crap now?

    U are one of the most respected members of this forum but why do you loathe DFI so much?

    HOLY SHIT 6 FAN CONNECTORS

    Its evident DFI tried to squeeze as much as possible onto the motherboard :rolleyes:
     
  12. SPHERE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    822 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    arizona (cave creek)
    humm looks liek a regular 680i to me not a lt..

    i like where the last card slot is works for my case fine (and this mobo should be paired up with a big case if you plan on running 3 cards anyway lol)

    lol@ green animal thingy in above avatar
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    It was a prank :shadedshu

    WHOEVER PULLED THAT PRANK GIVE YOURSELF UP LOL.
     
  14. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,811 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    This is beginning to look alot better than the high end 680i boards. It seems the LT here means, loaded to the teeth. HAHA. 3 PCI slots are nice, but with any decent graphics card, youll lose 2 of them if not all 3. BTW, I hate DFIs color choices.
     
  15. b1lk1

    b1lk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    688 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    LOL! Wrong as usual. This board has one of the best layouts I've seen so far. You'll still get to use 2 PCI slots even with 2 dual slot video cards and as said before me, noone would be dumb enough to use a dual slot video card as a physics card.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I'm gonna be using a dual slot cooled card for physics. But that's only because I already have it, and have a large case. lol Otherwise, I would just use a single slot card.
     
  17. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    There are many who would use a half decent card for physics, which in turn would still use a 2-slot cooler. Theres no point in using a crap card for physics as it would likely bottleneck other components where its too slow.
     
  18. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    658 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    there is no reason to believe that you need a high end card to do physics, in fact ati and nvidia have both planned mid-range cards to be used to do physics, and that is what they talk about using in all their descriptions

    a 8600 series should be more than enough to handle physics, and as the ageia card showed us once you start adding in all the dust particles and crap that you get with physics the graphics card, even the highest end dual card solutions, quickly become the bottleneck

    edit
    and now that I think about it more, the people using the $500 graphics cards to do physics probably won't be buying the stripped down motherboard to do it in anyway
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2007
  19. Blamo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)