1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Diamond HD 3650 1024 MB DDR2

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Apr 1, 2008.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,960 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,759
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2008
  2. Para_Franck

    Para_Franck

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    78 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    That's exactly what I said when the 1 gig 3650 was announced, 1 Gig is useless on a slow card like this!!

    I most say, that since this card is oriented towards the HTPC market, I would have liked to see a review that put the card in an HTPC environnement. Gaming is not all, specially for an HTPCcard. what HD decoding performance does it have, is the HDMI working good, etc...

    Franck
     
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,960 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,759
    all recent ati and nvidia cards have enough hd decoding performance that just works with basically any cpu. however, video decoding tests are something i am looking into for all our gpu reviews

    explain how hdmi can not work good? you plug it in and it works ..
     
  4. Hawk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    The Big Smoke, Canada
    Looks decent. Will be building a system for my Bro-in-law soon and he just needs basic video, but I may just go with a 512Mb version though. I like it doesn't use too much power, and interesting that it can work with crossfireX on an NV chipset (although begs the question, why bother xfireing these things on any chipset). The fan noise doesn't look promising if your going for an HTPC - same db at idle and load and its higher than most of the better cards.
     
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    1GB is useless, it is even more uselss when the memory used it slow 400MHz GDDR2. I hate that GDDR2 is even still used on anything from the mid-range. GDDR2 should be on the low-end cards only.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Another marketing gimmick?

    I think so.
     
  7. Para_Franck

    Para_Franck

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    78 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Well I admit that HDMI has no other choice but to work good. My experience with the ATI HDMI capable cards (HIS 3850 turbo) was good, except for a little glitch in the sound quality(only in certain situations) And I hate to have to use an adapter to switch from DVI to HDMI, native HDMI is best, In my opinion, espacially when dealing with space limitations.
     
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    Yep, just like when they used to put 512MB on FX5200s and the countless other times they have just bumped up the memory size to make the cards more appealing to the public.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  9. ArkanHell New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    96 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Paraguay
    I think is a sad card. Make me feel depress.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page