1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Different Versions of AutoCAD

Discussion in 'General Software' started by OrbitzXT, Sep 7, 2010.

  1. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    I'm looking for someone who has used AutoCAD 2002 and other more up to date versions. My boss at work is reluctant to upgrade because he feels he'll have to relearn the program. While trying to figure out how to get AutoCAD 02 with Windows 7 (Which I couldn't), I saw users discussing using more up to date versions of AutoCAD and changing the GUI to look like an older, more familiar versions. Does anyone know how to do such a thing?

    I want to get Windows 7 on our office computers, but this AutoCAD issue is holding me back. Any thoughts from experienced AutoCAD users would be appreciated. I myself do not use the program nor know much about it, I just need to have it up and running for others at work.
     
  2. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,146 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,783
    Location:
    04578
    autodesk products tend to allow customized GUI's at least its that way in the apps i use from them so i dont see why Autocad would be any different and your boss will need to learn new software eventually stalling will only make it worse theres no reason that you cant install the new version and cross reference what does what the new apps will eventually become second nature examples


    Maya 7 by alias vs Maya 8.0 by autodesk HUGE difference in terms of gui layout but if you pay attention and look around all the tools are there just tweaked and better placed.

    i cant speak for autocad ive little experience in it and that was for some mechanical designs

    i say grab the new autocad my guess is the new autocad will run on the old OS if im not mistaken as such give them a month or 2 to get accustomed to the New Autocad then switch to the new windows this way if time is of utmost importance they can easy switch to what there comfortable with.. Also not sure if it works the same with Autocad but in Maya you can rename the ascii files via it will say Maya 8.5 in the file if i change it to Maya6.5 maya 6.5 can open the file with little issue. Not sure if it applies to autocad but it should depending on there save file preferences
     
  3. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    I'll try and talk them into it. I actually have 3 bosses who all use AutoCAD. The topic briefly came up the other day and he actually mentioned how he held off for a very long time on upgrading. He used a version of AutoCAD from the early 90's until like 2005 when he switched to 2002 version...even though there was an 04 version.

    I have a very basic understanding of the 2002 version of AutoCAD. I plan to check out the new version myself to gauge how different it may be before trying to sell my case.
     
  4. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,146 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,783
    Location:
    04578
    good plan major point here is software dosent change all that much between versions for the exact reasons that your aware off especially in these situations :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page