1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DIR-655 Router only gives me ~1/2 speed after FW update

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by jaredudu, Nov 25, 2009.

  1. jaredudu

    jaredudu

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    240 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    New York
    I updated my router from the stock firmware to the latest one on Dlink's webpage. Everything works however my download/upload speed is less than half of what it was with the original firmware.

    Does anyone have insight as to why this would occur?
  2. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,743 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Norway
    reset settings to default?, try tweak the firewall settings, turn off WISH and QoS and see if that helps
    btw i havnt jumped ship to a newer firmware, my trusty DIR-655 A3 is running at 1.22 :p

    what do you mean by download? bittorrent or FTP/HTTP?, it it the wireless to wired/wireless transfer? how fast is that?
  3. jaredudu

    jaredudu

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    240 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    New York
    1.22 was the original firmware I had that worked well. The only downloads I have tested were through HTTP and a download accelerator. The connection im using is wireless but this is affecting all things running through the router such as the PS3.
  4. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,315 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. jaredudu

    jaredudu

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    240 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    New York
    The problem is I actually tried an older firmware update version several months ago and it gave me the same problems so I downgraded back to the stock firmware. Apparently you cant downgrade from the most recent firmware though so it appears as if im stuck here.
  6. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,315 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Right....after updating to a 1.3x you will not be able to go back.....

    Here´s a good starting point:
    http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?PHPSESSID=e140eb235ea236814179389feae392d9&board=129.0
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. jaredudu

    jaredudu

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    240 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    New York
    Hm alright, I'll let this thread go for a bit longer before I make one there though.
  8. jaredudu

    jaredudu

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    240 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    New York
    Well I updated to the latest beta firmware, however the problems are not resolved still :(

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page