1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does anyone utilize the power setting in vista??

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by crtecha, Apr 3, 2009.

  1. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    Does it cause issues while gaming or running taxing programs. Why I ask is I have it set to power saver at home and it underclocks my cpu to 1.3 when just idle and my temps obviously drop to about 32-34c. I like seeing temps that low but should I turn it to performance when I game?
     
  2. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    It will automatically run at full speed when you game. No need to worry and its actually a power saving feature on your motherboard and cpu that cause that.
     
    crtecha says thanks.
  3. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    awesome. I saw no issues yesterday when play cod4 but I just wanted to rule out any potential issues. Thank DP
     
  4. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    No problem. You should only really need to turn it off if your an expert overclocker. I found it helped me boot into vista to benchmark at really high clock speeds.
     
  5. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,876 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    690
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    You could possibly see small, almost unnoticeable periods of unresponsiveness, but it shouldnt affect FPS or gameplay.
     
    crtecha says thanks.
  6. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan

    I didnt think about that. Would it bsod when you raised the clocks. I know that right now I boot at a lower clock but I imagine it fluctuates during the boot process.
     
  7. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Well a bsod is caused by the cpu making an error or something like that so when you boot into windows with that enabled your reducing the chances of the cpu making an error. The cpu is much less likely to bsod when at the lower clocks than at higher. Jumping between clocks doesn't affect stability. Hope that helps :)
     
  8. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    I see thank you for the information
     
  9. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,187 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
    On vista,i always have mine to minimum power savings.I dont see the point having power savings on on a mains powered pc.Power savings are for craptops(yes,i dont like laptops)
     
  10. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    well I mean if your not using it for anything crazy wouldn't you want to lower the power consumption?
     
  11. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,187 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
    Nope.I have had problems before when vista has powered down my hdd's,and some program needs to access something,and because of the delay in the hdd's powering up,i've had bsods.

    My pc is watercooled,so cpu temps are not a problem,and it seems much more responsive if things are not constantly powering down and up.
     
  12. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    Ok I understand.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page