1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dual monitor help

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Nozoned, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. Nozoned

    Nozoned New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    NC
    Hi, I recently hooked up second monitor to my system. It's an old gateway LCD that I had in the closet. For the most part it works fine but when I play a game in full screen the second monitor goes all out of whack. I will have some monitoring programs like HW monitor and such open and layed out on the second but, as soon as I start the game they will all bunch up and move to the side of the monitor. I have seen some programs that advertise making dual monitor use easier and better but would like to avoid more software if possible. Thanks!
  2. bbmarley

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    480 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    i had a thing happen like this when i used two monitors of a different resolution
    the solution what worked for me was making sure game settings had the monitors res i was gaming on
    ie running game at 1600x900 on 1920x1080 problem on second monitor
    running game at 1920x1080 on 1920x1080 stuff look normal on second monitor
    Nozoned says thanks.
  3. Nozoned

    Nozoned New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    NC
    I think I understand. My main monitor is 1080, not sure about the other but I'm sure it's lower. So what you're saying is find out resolution of second monitor and play games at that instead of 1080 like I currently do?
  4. bbmarley

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    480 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    the other way round play games at 1080 if your monitor is 1080
    for me playing at lower caused problems that sound like what you are having
    i use to experience it frequently upon newly installed games and starting them just to change res
    Nozoned says thanks.
  5. Nozoned

    Nozoned New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    NC
    I see. I guess it's something else then since I already play them all at 1080.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page