1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dual Monitor

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Bokteelo, Apr 12, 2009.

  1. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    I have an integrated 6150 LE and a dedicated 4830. I was wondering how I could run dual monitors using both cards? I tried plugging a second monitor in the 6150 VGA slot and my monitor says checking cable > no signal.

    Oh and does it matter which side my monitor is on? I don't want to drag my mouse the one way and have it going the opposite side or something. Hard to explain but I'm sure you get the point.
  2. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Plug the monitors into the 4830 (both of them), then enable the second monitor in Windows Display Options and position it where ever you want (physically, and in Display Options - you can drag the monitor around to position it.)

    Problem solved :)
    Bokteelo says thanks.
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    Using both cards is not possible with the hardware you have. I know the motherboard you have as i used one once, as soon as a PCI-E card is installed the onboard video disables.
  4. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Crap. The 4830 only has one VGA connector. The other would be a DVI, and I don't have a DVI adapter or monitor right now.
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    DVI to VGA adaptors are as cheap as chips. if you werent so far away i'd send you one... i've got a drawer full of em.
  6. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Ahaha. I just found this on Amazon. Does it seem like a good buy? I honestly don't see anything wrong with it. I won't need any cables would I? I'll just use the VGA cable from my old monitor.
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    yeah thats the one. it makes DVI ports VGA, end story.

    I'm surprised the card didnt come with it.
    Bokteelo says thanks.
  8. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    You only get DVI to VGA adaptors with cards that have no VGA output, cus their card has one VGA and one DVI, an adaptor was not needed
    Bokteelo says thanks.
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    most of my cards i got (radeon 1650s, and so on) had one of each, and included the adaptor anyway.
  10. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Mussels, how much would a second monitor strain my system, specifically the GPU, if I have to use one GPU for 2 monitors?
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    in 2D? no change. as for 3D it would add a lot of stress, but no games really support it.
    Bokteelo says thanks.
  12. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    You can run two games at once, but I doubt the card would handle it, unless it was from a few years back.

    Also dont forget, if running full screen on one monitor and you click on something on the other, you will get a CTD on the fullscreen app.
    Bokteelo says thanks.
  13. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Awesome. Thanks! I just want to be able to watch videos while I'm gaming.

    What's CTD?
  14. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I've been using Dual Monitors for years, and except for one game (an old one) which didn't like being minimized (IE it got stuck minimized) I've never ever seen that.

    Using a second monitor loses you no noticeable performance (unless you go stretching the game across both screens) in games.

    Crash to Desktop.
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    watching a movie while gaming will have a few minor problems. Some games dont lock the mouse cursor, so its going to scroll over to the other window instead of turning you left, etc.

    Also, if you click on the other application on the second window it will either crash or minimise your game. Windows really isnt optimised for dual screen PC's.
  16. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    What if both monitors are at the desktop?

    I can use one mouse for both desktops right? And the cursor won't be visible on both monitors at the same time, I'd have to drag them over to one another right?
  17. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Yes, you're just extending the desktop so it uses 2 monitors. So it's one desktop, across 2 monitors. One mouse cursor, one taskbar (by default, grab Ultramon for a second).
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    yeah dark got it.

    2 monitors works great in 2D (windows desktop) it only gets complicated when fullscreen applications are involved.
  19. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Now I disagree, as I said before, been using them for years, except for one game which hates being minimized (it gets stuck minimized) I've never had a problem using fullscreen apps and then accessing stuff on the second screen (it minimizes the game, you do what you need to on the 2nd monitor, then open the game again).

    I even watch films when playing L4D. They both run fine, no crashes or instability.

    It's brilliant for World of Warcraft or Guild Wars (but you run those in a window).
  20. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Ultramon? Let me Google that.

    Edit: Looks like a useful software. I'll be sure to download it and try it when my adapter comes.

    Can I have different application shortcuts on each desktop? For example, Chrome on #1 and IE7 on #2?
  21. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Ultramon is amazing mate. I couldn't use dual monitors without out it.

    The main feature is the second taskbar, without that you only have the main taskbar on the first monitor, and it gets confusing.

    You can put whatever you want wherever mate. It just makes it a larger desktop.
    Bokteelo says thanks.
  22. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Thanks for all the help guys! I'll probably bump this topic if I have problems later on when my adapter arrives.
  23. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
  24. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Oh that's just awesome. I'm pretty excited! Too bad I had to steal my sister's monitor. She's coming back in a month for like 4 months for summer vacation. DAMN IT I'll have to return it then! T_T
  25. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Hahah, I'm using my old 17" monitor. Makes a huge difference, been using dual monitors for so long I just can't go back to a single monitor.
    Bokteelo says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page