1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dual Motherboards in one case?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Cynre, Apr 14, 2009.

  1. Cynre New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Is it possible to put 2 motherboards in one case to expand the amount of memory and power put to the computer? Sorry, I am new to this modding thing and I thought about the Dual Motherboards and was wondering if it would work.

    -Cynre
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    You can put two motherboards in one case (if you get one big enough), but they cant combine for better performance at a consumer level.
  3. Cynre New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    oh damn, i was hoping it could improve performance and shit, that woulda been sick
    Studabaker says thanks.
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,867 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Putting two computers in one case does not automatically make it one computer. Supercomputers are really just a bunch of regular computers linked togeather, check the specs of the new supercomputer that was just recently built, it has thousands and thousands of processors. You would have to network them togeather somehow, but it would be more efficent to just build one really fast computer instead of two mediocre ones. Also, by cramming two computers in one case there are bound to be some serious heat issues.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. alucasa

    alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Waterdown, Canada
    Well, you can try dual-socket motherboards. And there was a case by Thermaltake where you could install an ATX motherboard and a mini-itx board in the same chasis. Though it did not combine the two computing powers.

    There are a few rackmount chassis that lets you build two mini-itx systems in one.

    If you have money to burn, google(or wiki) blade server.
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    the same thing applies to dual and quad core proccessors.

    In car terms, you're adding more wheels.

    2 wheels at 3,000 RPM or 4 wheels at 3,000 RPM - they're still going 3,000 RPM and no matter how many you add, it aint going any faster. The analogy part kicks in because each wheel/CPU core can carry its own weight limit - the more you have, the more you can do at any one time.

    (with two motherboards, you're simply having two PC's sharing a case. technically you can do more at once, because each PC could be doing separate things)
  7. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    Man oh man, that is rich :laugh:
  8. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    haha would definitely be an idea if it would work, but what would the point of having 2 computers in one case be? and i would thk it'd be an interesting project if say 2 brother have computer right beside each other, and intead of 2 towers, custom build a single tower with badass air flow that would hold both systems in it. other than that i can't think of a reason lol
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    i've seen people do it, have an ITX system inside their tower to run a fileserver/torrent and so on. The tricky part is fitting a second PSU in the case.
  10. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    i have been wanting to do this for a while i found some 5.25" industrial motherboards that will go in a dvd bay but they were far too expensive failing that i was going to go with a pico-itx or nano-itx for a bit torrent and file server.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page