1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dual Motherboards in one case?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Cynre, Apr 14, 2009.

1. Cynre New Member

Thanks Received:
    Is it possible to put 2 motherboards in one case to expand the amount of memory and power put to the computer? Sorry, I am new to this modding thing and I thought about the Dual Motherboards and was wondering if it would work.

-Cynre
  2. alexp999

alexp999 Staff

Thanks Received:
    You can put two motherboards in one case (if you get one big enough), but they cant combine for better performance at a consumer level.
  3. Cynre New Member

Thanks Received:
    oh damn, i was hoping it could improve performance and shit, that woulda been sick
    Studabaker says thanks.
  4. hat

hat Maximum Overclocker

Thanks Received:
    Putting two computers in one case does not automatically make it one computer. Supercomputers are really just a bunch of regular computers linked togeather, check the specs of the new supercomputer that was just recently built, it has thousands and thousands of processors. You would have to network them togeather somehow, but it would be more efficent to just build one really fast computer instead of two mediocre ones. Also, by cramming two computers in one case there are bound to be some serious heat issues.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. alucasa

alucasa

Thanks Received:
    Well, you can try dual-socket motherboards. And there was a case by Thermaltake where you could install an ATX motherboard and a mini-itx board in the same chasis. Though it did not combine the two computing powers.

There are a few rackmount chassis that lets you build two mini-itx systems in one.

If you have money to burn, google(or wiki) blade server.
  6. Mussels

Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

Thanks Received:
    the same thing applies to dual and quad core proccessors.