1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

dx11.1 vs dx11

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by subhendu, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    What is the difference between these two ? I have a plan to get a GPU soon . Should I wait for DX11.1 , or buy a new video card now?
     
  2. shankly1985

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    30 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I think DX11.1 is in windows 8 and cards that support DX11 will updated to use DX11.1.
     
    subhendu says thanks.
  3. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    746 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    If i'm right dx11.1 isn't supported in win 7
    Win 8 had dx11.1 support
    But no single gpu can run dx11 titles with decent frames like 60+
    And probally you won't see the difference

    I say wait for kepler
     
    subhendu says thanks.
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,792 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,172
  5. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    I 've read it before.But I don't understand all the technical terms.I am casual gamer ,will do some video editing ,video encoding ,watch HD movies .resolution - 640x480 (for running a portable projector ).

    I am planning to get a nvidia card .is it worth waiting for nvidia GK107 GPU ?
     
  6. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,496 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    hmm well if your budget is tight I would hold off. But personally I would buy a gtx 570 and then you can upgrade to keplar and sell your 570 OR buy another 570 for SLI if keplar turns out to be a fail. Although it would really also depend on how much you would use it and also your budget.
     
  7. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    the maximum resolution - 640x480 .I don't think that I need a 570 . looking to get a card below 100$.
     
  8. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,923 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    seriously? 480p? i'd look into an old 5xxx (not that old, i use 5850s :) ) series radeon or early 6x series. more than powerful enough for that res in dx11 and will be under $100. I would spend even wioth the money on a better res screen unless you are limited by something else. even with lower settings a higher res screen will look better. that's not always true mind you, but coming from 480 i'd have to say it is.
     
  9. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Yea it is a portable projector.
    I had a 6770 few weeks back .but now it is sold.I am strictly looking to get a nvidia GPU .But my confusion is whether to wait for kepler or to get a gt 4XX series ?
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  10. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,496 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    oh ok, well see if you can pick up a 460 or a 550ti. Sorry I thought you meant it that the projector was an additional output screen. Also at that resolution a 450 should be ok too but thats if you can still find them.
     
    subhendu says thanks.
  11. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    sorry ,forgot to tell you,it is not an additional output screen.is it worth waiting for nvidia kepler budget series ?
     
  12. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I am not to concerned about it but after an extensive search through things I still couldn't find an answer to "Will Windows 7 get DX11.1?" Has that information been released yet?
     
  13. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    834 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    So, does the DX11.1 require new hardware as did DX10.1, or no? o_O
     
  14. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Probably not worth it.
     
    subhendu says thanks.
  15. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,496 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    not worth it in your scenario tbh.
     
    subhendu says thanks.
  16. timma New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    86 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    DX 11.1 now only support @ Win8,but M$ maybe have incolude in Win7 SP2~
     
  17. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,770 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,668
    Location:
    IA, USA
    No reason to wait. Games that use DX 11.1 won't be out until sometime after Windows 8. Doubt you'll ever be able to the tell the difference between DX 11 and DX 11.1 anyway.


    And 640x480 (VGA) resolution doesn't take much of a graphics card to power (only 307,200 pixels). For example 1920x1200 (WUXGA) is 2,304,000 pixels. I think you'd be fine with a 5670 or if you really want to turn the settings up, 5770.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page