1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

E8400 @ 3.9ghz @ 1.34v - is it safe?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by MaxAwesome, Mar 23, 2009.

  1. MaxAwesome

    MaxAwesome

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    368 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Over There
    My mistake, sorry :p

    Anyway, I lowered my FSB termination voltage to 1.2v. Should be safe then, hun?

    By the way, could you explain what VID is? How does it relate to Vcore?
     
  2. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Re-read my post (hint...near the bottom)
    Also here

    Also look at page 14 of the same PDF file.
     
    MaxAwesome says thanks.
  3. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    You'll probably find that a lot of the voltages you set are higher than required to make the system stable. Now that you have it stable, you can gradually go through the process of reducing voltages one at a time and re-testing for stability. That is the most time consuming part of overclocking, but it's worth it to get lower temps and longer life out of the components.

    The most important thing to get 110% stable is the ram, if that is not completely stable you will get random freezes/blue screens and data corruption. Download memtest86+ and run that for at least a couple of hours.
     
    MaxAwesome says thanks.
  4. MaxAwesome

    MaxAwesome

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    368 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Over There
    thanx ;)

    well, let's see what I can do now. 1.2v FSB voltage should be safe, right? :)

    I'm not touching that again! :p I had it way too high. If this turns out to be irreversibly unstable, I'll just drop to 3.6ghz... that's actually where most performance gains are (from 3 to 3.6ghz). But you know, 4ghz is the new magical number, as once 3ghz was.
     
  5. MaxAwesome

    MaxAwesome

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    368 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Over There
    You seem to have a pretty nice OC on that E8400 of yours! ;)

    My current BIOS volts are as follows:

    Vcore: 1.38v

    CPU PLL: 1.52v

    FSB Termination Voltage: 1.2v

    GTL reference: 0.63x

    NB: 1.4v

    RAM: 2.10v

    What do you think? What could be lowered according to your experience? Which volts do you consider being overkill right now?
     
  6. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Thanks :D

    You could try lowering the CPU PLL a tad. I'm running 1.3v on mine, your other voltages look pretty good.

    EDIT: nevermind, checked my bios and 1.5v is the min. I was thinkin of fsb term. Your volts look great ;)
     
  7. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Keep in mind that some of your bios settings may need to be keep at auto. In other words, there aren't a whole lot settings you will be adjusting. However, I cannot give you specific advice because I do not own your motherboard. This is were trail and error from your efforts come into play; as it did all of us who wanted to learn how to overclocked. So you are going to need to grab a pen and paper. Right down all the bios settings in the advance settings (I think that's what it's called). And use that as a reference if you ever want to make changes. However, remember one simple phrase that will help you when overclocking "if it ain't broke don't fix it". Don't get an itch finger by making unnecessary changes.

    Example:
    Code:
    Extreme Tweaker 
    Ai Overclock Tuner : Manual 
    OC From CPU Level Up : AUTO 
    CPU Ratio Control : Manual 
    - Ratio CMOS Setting : 
    FSB Frequency : 
    FSB Strap to North Bridge : 
    PCI-E Frequency: 
    DRAM Frequency: DDR2- 
    DRAM Command Rate : 
    DRAM Timing Control: Manual 
    CAS# Latency : 
    RAS# to CAS# Delay : 
    RAS# Precharge : 
    RAS# ActivateTime : 
    RAS# to RAS# Delay : 
    Row Refresh Cycle Time : 
    Write Recovery Time : 
    Read to Precharge Time : 
    
    Read to Write Delay (S/D) : 
    Write to Read Delay (S) : 
    Write to Read Delay (D) : 
    Read to Read Delay (S) : 
    Read to Read Delay (D) : 
    Write to Write Delay (S) : 
    Write to Write Delay (D) : 
    DRAM Static Read Control: 
    Ai Clock Twister : 
    Transaction Booster : 
    
    CPU Voltage : 
    CPU PLL Voltage : 
    North Bridge Voltage : 
    DRAM Voltage : 
    FSB Termination Voltage : 
    South Bridge Voltage : 
    Loadline Calibration : 
    CPU GTL Reference : 
    North Bridge GTL Reference : 
    DDR2 Channel A REF Voltage : 
    DDR2 Channel B REF Voltage : 
    DDR2 Controller REF Voltage : 
    SB 1.5V Voltage : 
    
    NB LED Selection : NB Volt 
    SB LED Selection : SB Volt 
    CPU LED Selection : CPU VOlt 
    Voltiminder LED : 
    
    CPU Spread Spectrum : Disabled 
    PCIE Spread Spectrum : Disabled 
    
    Advanced CPU Configuration 
    CPU Ratio Control : Manual 
    - Ratio CMOS Setting : 
    C1E Suppport : Disabled 
    CPU TM Function : Disabled 
    Vanderpool Technology : Disabled 
    Execute Disable Bit : Disabled 
    Max CPUID Value Limit : Disabled 
    
    
    USB Configuration 
    USB Functions: Enabled 
    Legacy USB Support : Disabled
     
  8. MaxAwesome

    MaxAwesome

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    368 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Over There
    Will try that!

    How the hell did you get your e8400 @ 4.4ghz @ 1.38v? That's awesome!

    Anyway, I think that after fine tuning my volts, my pair of 2gb DDR2 800mhz RAM is still going to crap out on me. I'm serioulsy wondering that if I had faster RAM, I would have had half of the instabilty problems I've had so far with this OC. Maybe Prime95 just fails because of RAM crapping out, hun? But even still, on average, how far does 800mhz memory go?
     
  9. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Sorry, I edited my post. Mine's 1.5v so you're fine.

    Just got a lucky cpu I suppose :p I've benched it at 5GHz, but it needs about 1.55v+ so only for short periods.

    Hard to say on the ram. Some brands overclock better than others, transcend is usually pretty good though, you might have just been unlucky.

    I've been looking at These for a while. 1066mhz ram has dropped in price a lot recently so it might be worth looking at something like that. Keep in mind that 2x2GB kits generally don't overclock very well, so don't expect much more than stock frequencies. I can only get 75mhz more out of my ram over stock.
     
    MaxAwesome says thanks.
  10. MaxAwesome

    MaxAwesome

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    368 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Over There
    I seem to have achieved total stabilty right now @ 4ghz :D Running prime95 as we speak and no errors/BSODs/reboots! Pretty good!

    Just one question Infrared, you said my volts look good, and they sure seem to be great for stability, but CPU-Z is reporting Vcore @ 1.376v @ load right now, which I suppose would be an accurate reading of my Vcore under load. Would you say this is safe? My temps aren't going over 60-62ºC. it's actually looking pretty good. I just hope that 1.376v @ full load isn't too much. Whadda you say mate? :D
     
  11. SkyKast

    SkyKast New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,096 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Location:
    massachusetts
    @infared
    YGPM

    @Max + infared
    if 2x2GB doesnt OC well then what does? 4x1GB doesnt work well in most mobos so what is that about?
     
    MaxAwesome says thanks.
  12. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    The only way to tell for sure is with a volt meter, cpuz is usually pretty close though. IMO as long as the temps are good anything under 1.4v is fine for 24/7 use. Anything over that will start degrading the cpu fairly quickly, but you'll still most likely upgrade before it dies anyway!

    @Max, 4x 1GB means there is more traffic passing through the northbridge, which is where the limitation lies. Some motherboards/chipsets handle it better than others but my board can only run 4 sticks up to about 1000mhz, regardless of voltage.

    I think the reason we're not getting highly overclocking DDR2 anymore is simply because everyone is focusing on DDR3. G.Skill have got some pretty nice memory, but they're already clocked very close to their limits.

    Corsair dominators are quite cheap now: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145214
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2009
    MaxAwesome says thanks.
  13. MaxAwesome

    MaxAwesome

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    368 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Over There
    This will probably make you laugh, but I expect to keep this E8400 for as long as I can. Probably until early 2011. So, two more years. This is the timeframe I think current Core 2 Duos will start to lag behind for gaming. Until then, I think we're pretty much covered. These little beasts have a lot of juice in them! :D

    The question is: with this kind of OC, will it last those 2 years I have in mind?
     
  14. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Try 4ghz
    vcore 1.368 bios
    pll 1.40
    vtt 1.4
    nb 1.3
    ram voltage 1.9
    lock pci-e @ 100
    eist off
     
  15. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    ^ Your a bit late lol!

    As long as you blast out all the dust from time to time, and keep an eye on the temps.

    Download RealTemp, and put a shortcut in the startup folder (start menu>startup). Check the box in settings that says 'start minimized' and then you'll always have the temp displayed in the system tray to keep an eye on.
     
  16. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Oh just for fine tuning.
    The less volts/juice for stable overclock the better long term =)

    My chip for instance needs:
    1.35v vcore bios
    NB 1.25v
    VTT 1.2v
    SB/PLL 1.38v
    but mine is a very special chip:
    [​IMG]
     
  17. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Agreed :)
     
  18. MaxAwesome

    MaxAwesome

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    368 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Over There
    True :)

    I might try that later, right now i'm still testing my current settings ;)
     
  19. MaxAwesome

    MaxAwesome

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    368 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Over There
  20. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    That's impressive! Nice chip!
     
  21. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2009
    MaxAwesome says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page