1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

E8400 won't oc like it used to anymore?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Dano 00TA, Apr 22, 2009.

  1. Dano 00TA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Indiana
    I'm running it water cooled on a Abit P35-E board with 2gigs OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 ram. When I first put it together, it did 3.6 with absolutly no voltage tweaks, but all of a sudden, I can barely get it over default 3ghz speed:confused: even raising the voltage. Running the ram at pc800 speeds doesn't help either? Anyone have any suggestions of what could be going wrong here? Thanks in advance:)
  2. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Maybe your board just isnt supplying the voltage like it used to...
  3. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    What do you mean, "all of a sudden". What did you do before you noticed this situation.
  4. Dano 00TA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Indiana
    One day it started giving BSOD and memory dumps then after that, nothing as far as oc'ing anymore.
  5. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Do a complete CMOS reset. When you take the battery out wait about 5 minutes with the plug removed from the PSU.
  6. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,660 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,768
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah considering you weren't pumping tons of volts through it all along i'd be more suspect of the board then the chip at this point. Hard to figure out without another cpu and/or mobo.
  7. Dano 00TA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Indiana
    I'm gonna go finish working on my truck and when I get in will do a cmos reset try some different ram and see what happens. Will post my results when done. Thanks again for the suggestions!
  8. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,580 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,367
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Check the memory too. That turned out to be the problem in a similar situation I went through, ended up being a bad stick.
  9. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,796 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    674
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Yea check your ram and make sure you dont have a bad stick!!
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,611 (13.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,001
    Run MemTest.
  11. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,765 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    @Dano 00TA,

    That sounds like a recent experience I had, only my E8400 was brand new. Straight out of the box, memory errors, BSODs, applications freezing, the whole nine yards.

    I tried all kinds of various settings in the BIOS, in fact I tried two different BIOSs, I even tried a different set of RAM, but I could not get the system stable with any overclock.

    After three days of tweaking and testing, I went back to my E6750, and the system is rock solid as it ever was.

    Needless to say; the E8400 got returned.
  12. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    Your experiences are completely different. He's basically saying he thinks the E8400 has degraded from what it was. Yours was a turd or your hardware sucked too much to run it properly from the beginning.

    It's possible Dano has a mobo or mem problem but for something to start behaving bad so suddenly it's probably the PSU dying.
  13. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,765 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    OK, if you say so.
  14. Dano 00TA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Indiana
    Well, I know it's not the power supply since I just installed it a couple days ago along with a bfg gtx285oc2 I just bought and the problem started before that. Gonna try to swap ram now and do a cmos reset.
  15. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Some CPUs just degrade over time, it's quite common especially with 45nm CPUs.
  16. Dano 00TA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Indiana
    I guess the ram is bad:ohwell: Just installed some Mushkin PC6400 I had laying around and it booted right up at 400fsb/3.6ghz@1.29v and is running Orthos as I type. So far so good. Thanks for the help.

    OCZ ram has a lifetime warranty, right?
  17. fatguy1992

    fatguy1992 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    419 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Yeah OCZ has a lifetime warranty.
  18. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,660 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,768
    Location:
    Chicago
    Right but he said he was running almost at stock volts afaik this is only really an issue with high voltage esp VTT.
  19. Dano 00TA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Indiana
    Well, my overclocking woes have come to an end:) Got it running stable 4.23ghz@1.37v I think it'll probably go higher but I'm pretty happy with it as is.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page