1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Editing tools in posts...

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by EarthDog, Dec 1, 2011.

?

Would you like to see text editing tools without clicking Go Advanced?

Poll closed Dec 31, 2011.
  1. Yes, having editing tools without going to advance would be great!

    18 vote(s)
    78.3%
  2. No, I could care less about clicking once to reach them.

    5 vote(s)
    21.7%
  1. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    I just wanted to bring up something I noticed here. There are no text editing tools available without going in to advanced when posting. So for example, I cant Bold, Italics, Underline, L/R/C Justify, put a link in, add quotes etc without clicking on GO ADVANCED.

    I think it would be a great idea to save a click and have some modest editing tools available when replying to a (without going to advanced). I see them in the Quick reply, but not when quoting someone or hitting reply in the thread. I will post some pictures later of what I am talking about if I was unclear.

    Poll should be up in a minute.

    EDIT: Whoa wait.. wtf, now they are there? Where the hell did I see that then...?

    EDIT2: Ok, when EDITING a post there are no text editing tools available.. haha!
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2011
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    I think it would be useful to have the same basic post editing tools from quickpost available when you are editing a post.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,384
    i can add that feature, no problem.

    please vote
  4. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    I voted yes because I think it would make it easier for people who use them to do so. I don't think I would use them too much though, I don't go advanced very often. Anything that makes it easier for people is a good thing.
  5. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I'd love that feature.

    :D
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,848
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I tend to highlight stuff, and then use key shortcuts.

    ctrl + B for bold, ctrl + I for italics, etc, and the rest, like images and youtube vids, I just use the bb code manually.
  7. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    That doesn't work for me in Chrome, only in FF - on TPU anyway. KB shortcuts would be fucking great if we had them in every browser.
  8. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    I voted yes, of course. In fact, I'd like to have a full-on wysiwyg editor. I know vB 4.x has this.

    If we're gonna stay with this version, then is there a plugin that would do this, perhaps?
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,848
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I tend to use IE rather than other browsers, as it is the most familiar to me. Can't say it's ever posed a problem, unless a specific site didn't support IE properly.
  10. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,384
    no plans for that. i think it encourages people to use excessive formatting
  11. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I voted no because I think people should learn how to use BBCode manually for quick posts.
    I'm a little biased when it comes to any type of programming. lol
    W1zzard and KieX say thanks.
  12. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    909 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Not that I post a lot but I like the option to be there in the event I want to. If I have a choice. :D
  13. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    My post was a bit tongue-in-cheek, and I have no problem with a few buttons to augment the quick reply (like bold, underline, insert image), but to have a full editor at that level pretty much defeats the purpose of it being a "quick reply".

    Just my 2 cents.
  14. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    That's a shame. I find it's quite inconvenient to have all the formatting code and URLs shown in the editing window and be forced to preview all the time to see how it would look.
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    I think Earthdog really meant when Editing a post, not when doing a quick reply. At least that is how I took it after his edits to the OP. I think the controls for Quick Reply are just fine, but I'd like to see those same options available when editing a post that was already submitted.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    Spot on.

    Yes, sorry for my gibberish up there. :shadedshu :)

    IMO the tools available in the Quick Reply are surely sufficient to have in the 'front' edit screen then what you have in go advanced is enough already.
  17. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Yes!
  18. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    BUMP! Lets get SOME editing tools without going to advanced please!!! :)
  19. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    BUMP! The people want it! :toast: :D
  20. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    I'll second your bump, ED. It's been six months now though. :ohwell:
  21. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    Helllllllllllllllllllllllo QB's avi...
  22. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    Bump!
  23. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,384
  24. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    Awesome Wizz.. thanks for the headsup!

    No worries, so long as its in the update, that would be great!
  25. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,088 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,513
    Location:
    Florida
    they are upgrading to beta 13 as we speak. it would be cool if w1zz went with the upgrade. It really depends on the features though. That and im sure it would take awhile to remod the vanilla code. Maybe that would be a good time for a dark theme :wink:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page