1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OFFICIAL Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim (Discussion)

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,267 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,938
    Location:
    04578
    really bethesda is going to add 4gb LAA to there PC game on there own accord? I find this hard to believe but if they do, it makes me feel even better about unloading on there support staff on 3 different tiers. :roll:

    It also means my biggest gripe with the game aka getting crossfire working with the 4gb mod is no longer an issue, driver improvements and xfire support should kick in properly now.

    all thats left is for bethesda to drop the retarded CPU shadows and swap to GPU shadows and skyrim could be modded to be the best looking game out there.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
    Darkleoco says thanks.
  2. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Anyone know if this patch fixes menus in eyefinity?
     
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,297 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,713
    I do enjoy them, at least the more classical ones.

    Well the quests are that, but with more complicated words. And fetch quests you are given because .. i don't know. This is not limited to Bethsofts games mind you, pretty much all games does this at some point. And about weaving the story with my actions, that works very well in Dwarf Fortress. But the thing is Skyrim have a lot of story. As you say, there are hundreds of side quests (which if badly written are more cumbersome than fun) and while you can just ignore them that doesn't really lead anywhere except, as seen from pictures in this forum, filling rooms with cheese or getting cooler looking armor. Which for me are no reasons to continue playing.

    Hey, I did like some things of the game. The exploring part is very fun, and the stuff I said above, but that together is not enough to make me want to continue playing. Well I could "finish" the game, if you can do that, but I don't want to. I do have harsh opinions about Bethsoft (mostly becuse Oblivion and Fallout 3 left me quite unhappy) but I think after more than 15 hours into the game I think I've given it a fair shot.

    And I know I've been bitchy about it, and i do apologise for that. I will try not to do so in the future. We cool? :pimp:
     
    phanbuey says thanks.
  4. MainframeTM

    MainframeTM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    275 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    1920x1080 - i've not averaged my fps but have not had any slow downs and only 1 crash so far.
     
  5. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,637 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,960
    I never crash if I play at 1920x1080. But at 2560x1440 with vanilla game I crash every 15 minutes. Needless to say, with the texture mods I installed I can't even run the game at 2560x1440 without the 4GB mod, I'd crash to desktop within seconds.

    ______________________

    I'm still getting the green flashing menus. I reinstalled 11.11c in vain, deleted skyrimprefs,ini and skyrim.ini in vain too... Though at least my fps went down to normal i.e. not going above 60 with vsync. Now I deleted the entire texture folder to get rid of any mods, and basically am re-downloading the game again. (Duh I noticed I had deleted 4GB of stuff only after I did it, and it was too large for the recycle bin. I am that blonde sometimes...:) )

    ______________________

    @ Frick

    Guess what, the most I like in this game is the exploring, freely wandering about, the non-linearity of the quests, the fact that if I'm not in the mood to fight I can simply sneak my way and hide around . . .

    I've just passed my 100th hour of gameplay, and haven't really got into the main quest at all. I'm still supposed to "go to Riverwood and speak with Delphine".

    This game's really worth the money for me.
    I look at the games I bought for €10 for Steam, nice games but which I finished in 3-5 days.
    Skyrim's been out for 27 days now, I've been playing it nearly daily and clocked 100 hours, and I haven't even done 15% of the game yet (I calculated this very roughly by reading titles of quests which I haven't encountered in the game). And I'm still on my first original character.

    If the price for this game were to be proportionate to that of other games like Limbo or Portal which I finished in less than 20 hours I think it would cost like €600 :laugh: (I mean to say that other games are relatively expensive vis-a-vis a game like Skyrim)

    _______________________

    On the other hand it's a bit tiring, I've been spending a lot of time tweaking the game... it doesn't make sense that someone with my same specs and a mid-range VGA gets better fps than me... And when I got everything nearly perfect... the menus start flashing green :banghead: I've been googling this problem and the only people apparently suffering from this issue are the ones using eyefinity :confused: I'm not running a high resolution of eyefinity :ohwell:

    _______________________

    Edit: Finally got rid of the flashing menus by removing all the 4GB LAA fix from my Skyrim steam folder.

    I don't think I'll re-install mods since Bethesda said they'll be releasing a 4GB LAA exe next week. I'll be doing the texture mods after then. And now I'll play vanilla. Hopefully I can do so without C2D at full resolution . . .
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
  6. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,737 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,286

    Holy Crap!!!! I may have a freaking heart attack!!!


    course, it would be nice to better utilize all cores and the 8gb, plus the crossfire, but then, I really only built this PC to play Skyrim, so what does it matt-.... hmmm....
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
  7. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    I'm concerned that my game is broken - 65 hours in and not a single random dragon spotted. In the main storyline I've done some of the quests, so I don't think that's it...

    I've gotten to the point where a horn I was meant to collect is missing and I find a note to meet someone in an inn or something. That follows the first time I have met the greybeards.

    I really, really hope I don't have to start the game again if it is a bug...
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,018 (11.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,318
    thank god for LAA patch.


    my net is thoroughly choked so bad downloading this patch, that i cant even load more than one webpage at a time >.> need real interwebz
     
  9. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,267 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,938
    Location:
    04578
    its a main quest issue i think just do that quest and it should reset itself and be back to normal
     
    human_error says thanks.
  10. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    That is a long time to not see any dragons randomly flying about.
    I don't encounter many, much of the time they spawn over towns and cities when I fast travel.
     
  11. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    In the STEP page he links to all of the mods he is suggesting, you have to download them and install them from their respective pages.
     
  12. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,878 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Has anybody had this weird glitch?

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
  14. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,746 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    His candle looks the same. His flames are pixelated; I never knew fire was naked.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,878 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Yes and any type of smoke/fog/haz/cloud

    EDIT" this started happening after todays patch 1.3 or something like that
     
  16. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Thanks - I did the next 2 parts of the questline and suddenly dragons. Killed 2 elders already (they're easy as I've got 94 bow skill already). Were they meant to appear before that point in the quest? (I assume so as all the advice I read was that they should appear sooner).

    I've seen a wierd shadow cast on my housecarl in breezehome which looked as if there were a wierd mesh over the fire, but I couldn't see any mesh at all (it looks like that distortion in the screenshot would have cast the shadow I saw). This is only after the latest 1.3 patch.
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,018 (11.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,318
    i have seen the really weird shadow effect on several NPC's in breezehome, standing near the fire.
     
  18. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,637 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,960
    Is it like concentric circles of rippling shadows?

    I see that too. Only in Breezehome in Whiterun.

    Edit
    : and in another place too. Only those 2 interiors so far. The second place is the shop of a really stuck-up trader in Solitude who wants to sell me 'good clothes' to wear in the Blue Palace.

    -------------


    Currently running game entirely vanilla. Thank heavens the green strobes no longer appear in the menu at least. On 11.11c, getting lowish fps in towns again now, and with no mods. I'll try to bear this till next week until Bethesda release their own LAA for the game.
     
  19. ufgy20

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    213 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    some of you may like this
    [yt]5S5fFW6p4Ws&feature=g-all[/yt]
     
    Black Panther and Delta6326 say thanks.
  20. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,988 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    871
    Location:
    Ohio
    I used to like dubstep. Then I took a wub wub wub WUB wuuuub WuuUUb wub in the wub.
     
    Black Panther says thanks.
  21. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,189 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Somehow, my skyrimpref ini properties are not loading correctly in game after the patch.. and 'datafiles' in the startup seemed to be greyed out...

    Anyone else have this?
     
  22. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,267 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,938
    Location:
    04578
    each patch seems to break ini settings delete them reload game let it detect settings, then reset it to what you want, after that close out reedit the ini files to what you want, and should solve it.
     
  23. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    On the patch notes what did they mean by "General Stability Improvements"? :wtf:
     
  24. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,414 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    424
    official LAA?

    for real?

    D:

    *grins at 8Gb ram* >8D
     
  25. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,988 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    871
    Location:
    Ohio
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but LAA still won't use more than 4gb will it?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page