1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ethernet Cable connection in Dorms

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Jade93, Jul 17, 2013.

  1. Jade93 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi I need some help. I'm sorry if I posted in the wrong forum but I have no idea with computers I hope this is ok.

    I'm staying at college and for some reason my wireless works but not my ethernet cable. trouble is because we have cement walls the wireless signal is HORRIBLE so I would love to get my ethernet cable up and running.

    If you could please help me getting it up and running again that would be amazing.

    Thanks in advance.
    Jade :) xx
  2. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,335 (7.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,061
    Location:
    Gypsyland
    Press start
    Type in "network", and select "Network and Sharing Centre"
    Click on Change Adapter Settings at the left.
    Check if you have two, one ethernet and one wireles.
    If you only have one, wireless, your ethernet driver is not installed (refer to website of manufacturer for driver)
    If you have two, and the ethernet cable is plugged in but the adapter is not connected - buy a new cable.
    Check with university site management to see if they have purposefully disabled physical network connection.
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2013
  3. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,028 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,245
    It may be necessary to fill in a form and give the MAC serial number to the IT crowd of your college in order to make a wired connection work.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Iceni

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    429 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    coventry UK
    Are you trying to connect 2 PC's together with 1 cable?

    If so you need an ethernet crossover, or a Hub/switch and a second cable.

    If your plugging it into a wall socket then you do not need the crossover or the hub. Make sure your cable is good (free of defects). And make sure you have the correct drivers installed for your network card.

    Also try using a connection in another room. You may have a dodgy wall socket. They often get abused in student accommodation. I know I had to get one repaired when I was in uni because mine had been ripped off and screwed back to the wall at some point. This was probably some drunk accident, and a cheap fix to stop the uni billing the previous occupant.
  5. drdeathx

    drdeathx New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Turn your PC's PSU off for 10 seconds. Next, unplug the modem for 10 seconds. Power both back on and boot. It is important to reset the PC's PSU also so don't forget this. The onboard NIC cannot find the DNS server If I remember correctly and powering off the entire PC will reset the NIC. I had this problem for 2 days and my buddy helped me and finally we powered the entire system down and turned off the PSU and bingo, success.
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page