1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Feedback on my new build

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Franklinwallbrown, Jan 22, 2008.

  1. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    My (hopefully) soon to be computer-----\/

    Case: Now I'm being told not to go water cooling!!!
    GIGABYTE 3D AURORA GZ-FSCA1-ATB Black Aluminum ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail $139.99

    Video Card: Discussing

    Video Card RAM cooling: May not need

    SoundCard: AuzenTech ($189.99-$20MIR)

    Motherboard: No one is suggesting this anymore + I looked up OCable MBs & there were no DFIs?
    DFI BloodIron ($111.99+$6.61s&h)

    CPU: Xeon 3210 ($243.99+$5s&h)

    CPU cooler: Water; specifics being discussed

    PSU: Discussing

    RAM: Discussing

    RAM coolers: Thermalright HR-07 + fan

    HD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ($109.99x3=$329.97)

    Monitor: Westing House 24" MVA ($399.99)

    HD DVD/Blu Ray drive: LG ($262.43+$9.99s&h)

    Speakers: Bought! z5500s ($239.99+$30s&h-$20MIR-$40MIR = $209.99!!!)

    Gaming Headset: Bought!!! Turtle Beach Ear Force HPA2 PC Gaming 5.1 Headset ($69.99+$6.95s&h = $76.94!!!)


    Tot:
    S&H:
    MIR:
    Sub.tot:
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2008
  2. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    None of those links are working, at least not right now...
     
  3. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Please litst the parts not just the links LOL
     
  4. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Er...ok...

    Sorry Da! I'll do that.

    Newegg is down right now I think.
     
  5. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    If you say type

    HI

    Then highlight it and then use the insert link button it works like this

    HI
     
    Franklinwallbrown says thanks.
  6. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Oh, that's good to know. lol thx
     
  7. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Okay, there you go.
     
  8. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Do you want to trade computers when you get this setup?
     
  9. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    looks pretty good, but the WD HD's are caviar's
     
  10. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Two things. You could save your self some cash, and gain some thermal tolerance by getting a Xeon 3210 quad instead of the the Q6600. This is available for $243 at clubit.com. Also, I would go for a couple of Seagate Barracuda HD's instead of those WD Caviars. Everything else looks great!!:toast:
     
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  12. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    you should go for 4gb set, there is no reason not too at these low prices

    heres a great set that is super stable and good for clocking:

    G.SKILL 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) $130

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231148

    its well worth the extra money and with the system your building why would you limit yourself to only 2gb of ram?
     
  13. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    I take it, then, that you're somewhere in the US?

    Cosmos 1000


    not when it comes to Auzentech :p

    I second the Seagate Barracuda HDDs. Although the WD Caviars are sound, reliable and damn near bulletproof - the Seagates are also extremelly reliable and a bit faster.

    Although, keep the Raptor HDD.
     
  14. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    No, I do not want to trade computers.

    What is wrong with cavilers?

    Is a Xeon the same as a Q6600? Why Seagate?

    Dude, all I've heard was that sound card is better than all Creatives, so...

    I thought that 4gb would be better, but I wasn't for sure. What about these: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820144118

    Yes (nice find, when will they be back in stock?); that is what you told me; I see; ok.
     
  15. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    Nothing, really. The Western Digital Caviar lineup is extremelly reliable - I have never had a WD HDD fail, or have any clusters become damaged. They'll give you sound peace of mind with any data - TBH, this lineup is the choice of many OEM builders, too.

    The Seagate Barracuda lineup is also extremelly reliable, but they're a bit faster than the WD drives. They tend to be on par with WD's price, too, but typically a little bit more expensive. That slightly better performance, though, means there's a slightly higher chance of HDD complications down the road, though.

    It is - don't worry. Creative's cards don't have anything on an Auzentech card.
     
  16. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    How much is shipping for the sundial cosmos case; the Newegg was free shipping? When will it be back in stock?

    Shadow, I've heard that the ATI cards aren't as good (someone explained in dept why) and that the Geforces were more OCable.
     
  17. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
  18. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,075 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    The sound card is actually a Creative chip on a much better card. For the money, it's awesome. In fact, the whole system looks great. I've always been a fan of WD (they've been quiet, cool, and dependable), but couple of the guys in this post recommend Seagate over WD, and I'll bow to their judgment. Both companies make a solid product.

    Have a good time putting it together and let's see some stats when you're done. :rockout:
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2008
  19. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    If I'm just using the 500gb hard drives for movies/music/everything but games and OS, would you still recommend the Seagates? I mean I don't want problems down the road.

    I am planing a front bottom to top back airflow.
     
  20. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    I have those speakers. they sound great, but the middle channel's cables are a bit short. You'll also have a bit of a conflict with your monitor speakers.

    I'd say ditch the monitor speakers (disconnect/remove) and use the creatives. The bass on this set is quite nice as well...

    good luck with the build :toast:
     
  21. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    Well i dont see any problems with the seagate models, but i myself use 6 WD HD's

    3 x 500WDAAKS caviars and 3 x 750WDAAKS caviars

    the 500's have been up for about 14 months - no problems ever
    the 750's for about 5 months - also no problems
     
  22. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Yeah, I wasn't really planning on utilizing them. I might for a late night listen or something, but not really. I am also looking into 20-24" plasma/HD TVs. Are they better picture quality than regular LCD computer monitors? Can my video card handle them?

    The Seagates cost more, about $20 more, so...2x 500 in RAID0 or not? Or 3x in the raid that gives you backup?
     
  23. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    naa the ones i showed you are much better but if you need to keep it at $100 then try these:

    GeIL Esoteria 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) $105 after mir http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820144098

    but the g-skill were good for overclocking, none of the other 2x2gb sets look like they clock very well so this one you'll more than likely have to run stock, but you never know.
     
  24. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    I run my 2 sets of three in raid 5, I get the total of 2 of the HD's and maintain redundancy

    SO my 3 x 500 = 1 TB roughly and I wont loose data
     
  25. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Does raid 5 still give speed gains? What if I put them all in HD cases...h/o I'll find the link.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page