1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

FREE Acer Aspire pc.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by newmodder, Mar 21, 2006.

  1. newmodder New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    669 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    british columbia
    a friend got this computer from college it seemed ok till i looked inside.

    intel celleron 2.8 ghz 256 L2 cache socket lga775(ok)
    mobo sis661gx-m7+964 southB(seems ok)supports dual channel 400 up to 2gigs(good)
    256mb pc3200 CL2.5(need more)
    onboard sound(6 channel)ok
    onboard video(ok)
    case is ok..has room for some extra fans(ok)
    and then theres the psu.

    PSU?...haha noticed that when i went to install a 80mm fan inline with the HD and had problems booting up..industry standard 250watt psu 2x12 volt rails one at 10 amps and the other at 13 amps, i guess that would explain the boot prob with the fan powered by the same rail as the hd...hooked it up with the dvd-rom and worked fine :)

    SOOOO.. suggested to here she should at least put a Antec or other well known PSU in there and add some more ram."she said" ok...you have 200 bucks to spend on this thing to make it better.."I said" Ok.
    So figure an Antec 350 to 430watt( no pci-e)plus she does not play any intensive games so i dont think she wont need more than that .plus add atleast 1 gig of ram 2x512 or 1gig whichever i can get cheaper.

    Sound Good?
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2006
  2. newmodder New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    669 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    british columbia
    well got the ANtec 380 watt Neo HE and is quiet as a mouse.Also put 2x512 pc3200 in.but i guess this mobo dose not support dual channel.checked with cpu-z and it didnt even show any of the timings or frequency, all it said was it had 992 mb of ram.
     
  3. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Antec is a waste of money, very overpriced.

    This PSU is very nice, and cheap. Fortron is one of the most reliable brands.
    I put one in my second comp-
    Sempron 64 @ 2.2 GHz
    9700 Pro
    cdrw
    dvd/cdrw
    4 case fans
    Zalman 7000B Cu-LED cpu heatsink

    Its extremely stable, and the rails dont fluctuate at all :toast:
    Its overkill for that comp your looking it. The PSU it has now is fine. If you dont believe me, look at this-
    http://www.extreme.outervision.com/
    Enter the specs of that comp, and it will tell you how much power it draws at which % load.
     
  4. newmodder New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    669 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    british columbia
    well that old psu was barely enough to keep it going. i added one led 80mm fan and the psu did not have enough power left to run the hd.i choose the antec 380 neo HE $99 cuz later she wants to add a good vid card and stuff.plus i didnt have to order.just went to town and picked it up.
     
  5. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Ouch for $100 you could have gotten an awesome fortron or enermax.

    And I put all the data for that pc into the PSU calculator, and it takes about 150 watts at 100% load. Since it has dual rails, the hard drive was probably pulling off the same rail as the motherboard and cpu, meaning no extra power on that rail. The other rail shoulda been fine (you said it was after putting the fan on the other line)

    Take that PSU back while you can and put the money to better use.
     
  6. newmodder New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    669 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    british columbia
    yeh..but i didnt list it all trhe stuff..i also took into consideration that she will be adding a video card nad maybe a quility sound.and right now it has 2x512 pc3200..i got 220 watts..but still the the amps on those 2 12vt rails are really low.it says on the psu that 12volt 1 and 12 volt 2 should not excead 20 amps max.. wait there are 3 12volt rails a single 12 volt rail with only 0.5 amps, thats the one that was connected to the hd when i first opened it up.
     
  7. newmodder New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    669 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    british columbia
    psu pic

    her eis a pic of the old psu specs..it might be a little hard to read.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2006
  8. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    -12v doesnt matter, nothing uses that.

    One of those 12v lines also runs through the motherboards atx plug, along with one of the molex cables. That line probably powers the mobo/cpu/harddrive, so probably no power left for other things. The 10 amp line is probably for everything else. Multiply amps X volts to get wattage.

    If you are serious about putting a high end graphics card into a cramped OEM pc with a 2.8 GHz Celeron, fine. But the money that it would take to upgrade that PC, would be better put into a Sempron 64 and a NForce 4 pci-e mobo if she is serious about gaming. That fortron PSU I linked earlier will work for 20 pin motherboards, and the newer 24 pin also.
     
  9. newmodder New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    669 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    british columbia
    ummm..the only connections to the motherboard are the 20 pin mobo power and the 4 pin cpu power connnection..but i just talked to her tonight and she wants a new motherboard, ....I think she is hooked...lol anyway she has the LGA 775 celeron D 336 2.8ghz and wants a better mobo, and she wants to keep with ddr400, and onboard video.

    Any suggestions?
     
  10. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    No point in changing the mobo, is it pci-e or agp?
    Does she even understand what the motherboard does? Socket 775 is Intels newest socket.
     
  11. newmodder New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    669 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    british columbia
    agp 8x
     
  12. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Sorry to disappoint you, but thats a 400w lite-on PSU...... add up the rails.... 276w 12v, 100w, 5v, and 66w 3.3v....
     
  13. newmodder New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    669 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    british columbia
    then why would it say.At ambient temperture of 25*c the total output power shall not excede 300 watts?????????????50*c not to excede 270 watts
     
  14. olg4436 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    lol...I feel kinda bad for you, if you had ordered from online (waited a few days) you could have easily purchased something along the lines of a thermaltake 550WPSU dual 12v's for around 90 and that would have been a lot better than your antec 380, however...the key point would be something like that would be more for less, and if you purchased online, the antec runs around 60-80 (if thats what you truly were looking for). However if in the near future you do plan to go for a higher end graphics card or something to run games with, then 380 is bare minimum and might not cut it (might, but maybe not) and if you're willing to spend the $100 anyhow, might as well just buy something like the thermaltake 550W or something on par with that so that you can upgrade in the future (and don't need to upgrade your psu, again). Then again, you probably won't be wanting to pay for a higher end gpu considering that the celeron will easily be the bottleneck of the system with a majority of the cards/games that you might use in the near future.

    Cheers!
     
  15. newmodder New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    669 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    british columbia
    she will never play games that would that would require a power supply like that.plus she is not planning on any new graphics card.all she is using i for is internet browsing and school.
     
  16. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Then why earlier did you say she wanted to put in a high end graphics card?

    That antec is mucho wasted money.

    The PSU already in that computer will never reach 50 celsius ambient temp (temp of air flowing in) so its more than enough for what she has.
     
  17. newmodder New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    669 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    british columbia
    that was then.
     
  18. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS

    while it may be peak, thats most definatly under rated if it can peak that kinda power...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page