1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

gears of war *i need the patch*

Discussion in 'Games' started by fullinfusion, Jul 27, 2014.

  1. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Hey fellow gamers, I wonder if anybody has the patch saved on there PC for gears of war? I had it and lost it, and now without it, I can't play the game.

    Its a patch and not a crack ok so don't get the two mixed up ;)
    Seems back when gears of war came out Epic had a time stamp or shit like that in the program that was missed when the launched the game.
    The patch fixes the time stamp issue so ppl can play the game.
    .without the patch the user gets an error box that pops up saying in the lines of " game cannot play with executable or modified code" or some shit like that then the game shuts down.

    I searched for a few min last night for the patch and the Epic gears of war site don't have it anymore nor does Microsoft, so if anybody has great search skills or the patch itself I'd be so grateful if someone could link me to the patch I need.

    Thanks
     
  2. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Netherlands
    You can get the patch here. I guess it's the third patch that's mentioned from the download list via that link.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  3. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    @TC-man have you tried to download #3 patch, is it still working?

    I'm away right now so I can't try it.
     
  4. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,711 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    712
    Location:
    Louisiana
    A better question is, even with the patch will it still work with a shut-down games for windows? Thats was an integralnpart of running the game.
     
  5. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Yes it still worked as I was playing the game Friday night. I had a goof up on my game hard drive and lost the patch so I was just asking for help finding it so I can reinstall the game later this week.. Now I hope the link is active.. It shows as 10downloads today so I'm crossing my fingers.. The name of the patch is the exact so.. ;)
     
    rtwjunkie says thanks.
  6. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,711 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    712
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Thats where i got the patch when i last installed the game, so yes, it should work. That is one of the few links anywhere!

    Thanks for the info on the game working without GFWL, too! Any special steps needed? Or does it just continue into the game?
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2014
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  7. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Install the game then run the patch and your good to go. Your also going to need that Microsoft market place app or whatever its called so you can log into your Microsoft account that's tied to games for windows.
     
    rtwjunkie says thanks.
  8. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,944 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    586
    Location:
    UK
    Games for windows still works?
     
  9. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Yup sure does :)
     
  10. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    344 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Alternatively you can change the time and date on your computer to before the timestamp and that will work in case the patch ever goes missing forever :)
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  11. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Yeah your right, we had to thence the bios date when it goofed up in the beginning. When I get home I'll be linking the patch to my drop box then its there for good.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page