1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GeForce GTX 480 Supports 4-way SLI?

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. MicroUnC

    MicroUnC New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    250 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Israel
    Al Gore would love to see that, lol jk :)
  2. gumpty

    gumpty

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    744 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Auckland
    I think you might have misread my post. I feel sorry for the fans that have to move that much air, not so much for Nvidia themselves. I also feel sorry for the consumers out there that don't get to benefit from a price-war this time around.

    Yet.
  3. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    yer heat would suck they would need to be watercooled, when evga made 4ways sli i dont think they thought much about air cooling, even 3way sli u can cook eggs and bacon

    I was bored :laugh:
    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    • HAHA.jpg
      HAHA.jpg
      File size:
      52.7 KB
      Views:
      1,977
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    wow... like in my thread about this last night,

    let me reemphasize on a few things already discussed...



    now that said...

    anyone who was willing to take the time to look for the source on this one might find the answer to why there is no results posted and a few other things...

    read for yourself

    https://www.evga.com/forums/tm.aspx?m=284389
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 8, 2010
  5. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    899 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    ASUS has done a few of this prototype GPU/etc stuff and it looks like EVGA is joining in these days.
    Having that in a chassis however will have it turn to molten metal half way through the boot screen though, not to mention burn you wall socket, cables in the wall, maybe even house down from the power draw. LOL!
    I'm sure when you just switch on the PC it must hum like a generator from the power flowing through it because of these! XD
  6. lism New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    138 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    That is some 1000 watts of GPU power.
  7. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,200 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    The actual PSU didn't fit in the frame, so it was outside off camera.

    Attached Files:

  8. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
  9. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    They mind as well start makin' pci-e higher then 16x.

    Why the heck do they insist on puttin the power plugs on that side and not the end to easily run the wires to a cable-management whole? all the cards I ever bought had it on the end and not the side. Watercooling would b better since they're stacked and blocks the fan. the covers aren't true to actually work better then they could. like being completely sealed and sucking in air from the fan and the end of the card.

    It does look pretty sweet. Like a huge brick sittin' there. Not for me tho. I have better things to spend money on. As long as a card can play games and make it look good that I'll enjoy playin'. I'm happy. Now gettin four of these and I can't do any futuristic holographic stuff from the movies. eh!
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Why? No graphics card gets bottlenecked by x16.
  11. Cleorina

    Cleorina New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Wow... 4 Way SLI... Cool... My next Room Heater upgrade...
  12. aCeFr3aK

    aCeFr3aK New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    71 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    US, Mass
    how can they breath haha, the two in the middle must be cooking
  13. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    would be a nice beachmark settup but dont see the point of having a fish smoker in your room
  14. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    660 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    NYC
  15. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    At first i thought this was some preview for the upcoming Quadro cards or some preview of an Nvidia super computer, but then I remembered that they usually have only 1 video output and don't need sli...Damn this is truly the epiphany of performance :respect:
  16. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
  17. jasper1605

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,271 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Location:
    Ohio
  18. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    It comes from k1nkg1n cooling, who are famous for their LN2 pots :D
  19. fatguy1992

    fatguy1992 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    419 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Thats on LN2, water cooling might get you around 800MHz - 850MHz depending on the volts.
  20. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    After 30 minutes of use, the cards melt into a single unit for easy removal.
    mdm-adph says thanks.
  21. ..'Ant'..

    ..'Ant'.. New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    294 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    █♣█
    I can imagine how hot they must run next to each other like that but hell it must be overkill.
  22. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Is it safe to assume that this will run crysis?

    Seriously though, understanding that for some people, $ vs FPS is irrelevant is one thing but what games/applications would noticeably benefit from this? I'm old and slow so I only need FPS to exceed 60 or so. How fast do top guns need their FPS?

    To me this looks good for benchmarks though.
  23. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    tbh it just looks epic to see those four cards crammed together. Epic as in omg i can't believe the things didn't melt the second the pc came on lol
  24. SetsunaFZero

    SetsunaFZero

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    136 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Ogrimmar
    hahaha :laugh: thats a good one :D
    the electricity meter must be rotating like hell :roll:

    Attached Files:

  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,959 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    Multi Card configs, I spit on them.

    Most users would only run 1 card anyhow, Multi Card Configs are still a moot point. My thinking at the time SLI came about, NV thought of saying why not force users to require 2 by making our TWIMTBP games run like crap on a single card. Also no user should require to run a watercooling loop under stock configurations when having multicard configs, only time that should be required is when pushing them beyond stock clocks, just like non factory Air coolers. TBH cards are getting ridiculous in size and heat production. I think cards in a stock configuration should only require a Single Slot Cooler and then if you really want to push then a 2x slot and or watercooling, like back during the days of the Radeon 9700 Pro.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page