1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

General questions about overclocking

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by helpme, Dec 17, 2012.

  1. helpme

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey I just have a few general questions about over clocking my pc

    I'm currently running a i7 3770k CPU with a Gigabyte GeForce Gtx 680 4gb oc edition
    I have a h100 corsair liquid cooling installed as well (initially for overclocking) I use this mainly for gaming.
    At the moment I am playing all my games at max graphics with no problems.

    So basically, I'm just wondering what difference will I notice if I overclock my CPU
    And the same with my gpu.

    Is there any point to do so to begin with

    What are safe temperatures to run the gpu and CPU at,
    Which won't affect the life span of my rig too harshly

    Any help with these would be great thanks !
     
  2. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,144 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,429
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    return to what you need
    faster processing or better handling in high textures or like that
    for me both is pretty fast but if you want to try you can try cpu first, raise little by little
    10% from stock i guess is ok, then you check the temp and test the stability of your system
     
    helpme says thanks.
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,915 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,434
    For gaming that CPU is overkill anyway, and no you will probably not notice a lot. Overclocking these days are pretty much only for enthusiasts and the ones who enjoy it. Unless you're doing rendering work or something CPU intense there is zero point to it.
     
    helpme says thanks.
  4. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,916 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,121
    you failed to mention your PSU. your GPU is very hungry and you will need a decent PSU to overclock them together. i go with Frick, overclocking is purely limited for enthusiasts and people who like to do it. hardware nowadays is pretty good enough for gaming and etc.
     
  5. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,910 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,687
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I always look at it in a more selfish way, for every extra Mhz I get out of my CPU and GPU (and Ram) I am getting technically "free" performance, everything at stock is paid for :)

    I suppose the answer to your question is that by overclocking, even just a little you will get extra frames, if you really don't need those extra frames in the games you play then don't bother. It is of course more important to those buying budget systems, if they can spend half of what you spend but acheive a system that pretty much competes with yours due to overclocking then thats a real gain.

    Example: I paid £70 new for my current processor a month ago, yours in the UK is around £225, over 3 times as much, yours on Turbo boost will hit 3.9Gig, mine is run at 4.3gig, I am probably getting similar or perhaps even better performance levels for a third of the cost :) That does not mean my or your approach is wrong, just that it's different.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2012
    helpme says thanks.
  6. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,931 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,528
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I wouldn't say that there's no point to overclocking your system. There's a motto which says you can't have too much power for a gaming system and there's truth to it.

    In this case, you might find that current games all reach a solid 60 or 120fps with vsync on, but newer games may well not. For example, Crysis 3 may well be really tough on the system, so any performance boost you get would help. Even on games that run at high fps, it can still help to avoid judders where the fps dips by a large amount. So yeah, you can't have too much power.

    You can measure your framerate in real time with www.fraps.com

    Perfectly put. :)
     
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,776 (9.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,236
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    If you want a safe OC with SB/IB I would just start out by leaving everything on default while ONLY change the mutli to 40x and if that turns out to be stable do 1x increases until you find the most stable clock for default settings. Also monitor your temps with RealTemp and voltages with CPUz.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. helpme

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My psu is 800w cooler master silent pro gold
    Wrong quote

    So what your saying Is if in the future my hardware is outdated then instead of updating my gpu etc, that is when I should overclock.

    Does anyone have any advice or experience on using Eva precision x
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2012
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,776 (9.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,236
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Please use the multi qoute option when replying to multiple people in your thread. It helps cut down on excessive bumping. :)
     
    Tatty_One says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,910 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,687
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Well to put it quite simply, if Intel releases a new CPU that at stock, clock for clock is a 10% performance improvement over your existing 3770, simply overclock your current CPU by 11% and you have faster performance, of course it's relative as if you were prepared to overclock in the first place you would be overclocking the new CPU :)
     
  11. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,915 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,434
    Games that demanding are pretty much exceptions nowadays, and an unlocked Intel CPU is fast enough on stock to handle it that well without overclocking.

    To be fair you have an "old" CPU. As Intel do things now you pay a premium for overclocking, and still loose other features (like VT-d on the upcoming Haswell), so the argument that you can get performance for free is not true anymore. For the Intel side that is. The old times are gone and will not come back.
     
  12. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,910 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,687
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    True, however it does apply to me currently which is why I gave him that example, I appreciate with current and new tech that may well not be the case.
     
  13. helpme

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok so I've successfully over clocked my gpu to 1370 MHz as a test and its still playing nicely but my temperature has risen from 30 to 37 degrees . Is that an ok temp
    Also what is a mem clock offset
     
  14. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,910 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,687
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Thats 37C is clearly an idle temp, you need to check it at full load but I am sure it's gonna be OK.
     
  15. badjoe

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I bet that's in idle state...try to run in 100% load and see how high it will risen up.. :p
     
  16. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs

    It would be much more easier to tell him to quit TPU....... Don't listen to "Mr.Negativity". His overall performance will benefit from overclocking. Why be negative? The guy bought water cooling for his 3770K. A better choice would have been no comment at all.


    Ok, I am done with that. What kind of motherboard do you have? Yo can easily overclock the 3770K by raising the multiplier on stock voltage to see how high it can get. Raise the multi in small increments and run an hour or so on prime95. if it passes up the multi 1 or 2 more nothes tioll it fails. Then add vcore. Watch your temps and keep it 75 or under and your golden. it is pretty simple.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2012
  17. helpme

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have the asrock z77 extreme 6, I just raise the multiplier through pressing f2 at start up?
     
  18. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,472 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,690
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    This will really confuse matters... (not what you said, what I'm about to say).

    I had heat issues and a high voltage with my SB-E. My 3930k was asking for about 1.38v (VID) on my 4.0GHz setting. I brought the vcore right down (1.32v) using the offset in BIOS (-0.06) and it runs about 5-10 degrees cooler and is still perfectly stable.

    It's still fun overclocking. There's more to it than multi's if you have a chip that doesn't play nice!
     
  19. helpme

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Roger that, officially confused.
    I'm just running tests on 4.6 ghz now to see if its stable from raising multis. That way is simple however I've just left it all on auto. Is that the best way?
     
  20. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,910 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,687
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Well, the thing with auto settings, whilst being the simplest is not always the best, often auto will give you higher voltages than you need, for example, check your VCore under load with the auto setting, then go into Bios and set VCore a little below that, test stability then further reduce until you get to the point that the system crashes, then up it a couple of notches and you should be good, remembering that less voltage and less heat is good!

    If voltages are pretty low anyway and your happy with that then just keep it how it is.
     
  21. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    even if you are bigger in overclocking, u have good cooling i think just leave everything on auto and just rise up the CPU multiplier at 40x to 42x so u will got 4.2ghz it will great, stocl voltage will be more than enough for your CPU.
     
  22. Slizzo

    Slizzo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    383 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    If you leave voltage on auto it won't leave it at stock, it will automatically increase voltage on the CPU to keep it stable. However it pretty much always increases the voltage much more than is necessary. Always best to force it to a specific voltage or use offsets in order to get it to use less.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page