1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Getting blank screen upon loading desktop (Windows8/Palit GTX670/ASRock Z68 E4)

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Anusha, Jan 19, 2013.

  1. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    750 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    [Solved]Getting blank screen upon loading desktop (Win8/Palit GTX670/ASRock Z68 E4)

    Hi,

    Today I woke up in the morning and turned on the PC. Great! No display. Actually it showed the messages in the POST screen and even the Windows 8 boot screen. But at soon as it entered desktop (I use autologin) the monitor would not get display. It looks as if when the video driver gets loaded, something goes wrong.

    This happened couple of days ago as well. But switching the cable to the 2nd DVI port and reverting back to the old port fixed the problem. But this time, it didn't work.

    After hitting reset button a few times, I managed to go into recovery mode. For some reason, shift + f8 doesn't work at all. (UEFI issue with this board? Some say there is.)

    Anyways, safemode worked and I removed the nVidia driver (310.90), intel video driver and virtu MVP driver and rebooted. I also disabled iGPU from UEFI. Now I could get into Windows but it was using a generic VGA driver. Windows automatically updated the driver and asked me to reboot. (Before rebooting, I found one unusual thing. Not sure whether it is related to this issue. The mouse clicks didn't work. For example, I opened Windows explorer using win + e but I could not close it by clicking on the close button on the title bar. The click registered because the visual indication of clicking it was shown. Just that it didn't work. Windows is broken?)

    Anyway, upon reboot, the blank screen problem was back. :(

    Then I tried if I could boot by connecting the display to the 2nd DVI port. Woah! It wouldn't show anything on screen even at POST. DVI port 1 always showed something at POST. Does that mean something could be wrong with the video card? Or, is it by design?

    Then I switched back to the 1st DVI port, went into UEFI and enabled the iGPU. Switched the display cable to iGPU's DVI port and checked if it worked fine. Woah! No display even at POST.

    The I just hit the clear CMOS button to load defaults UEFI settings. Nope, that didn't fix it.

    Now I cannot get it to POST even with the 1st DVI port on the video card.

    So I gave up and went I work. I'm typing this on my way to work.

    When I get back home, I'm thinking of doing the following things.

    1. Remove the video card from the PC and try to get some display output off the iGPU. If I manage to get it, I will have something to pursue at. If I don't get a display, I don't know what to do other than to RMA the board.

    2. If I manage to get the display at POST with the 1st DVI port on the video card, I will do a system reset and see if it fixed anything. (especially if the problem was with Windows in the first place.)

    3. If I manage to reinstall/reset windows and fix the problem, it could have been caused by buggy Virtu drivers. There isn't a win8 driver for virtu. I was told by Virtu support to install the MVP software. But it installed as a trial anyways. I have a feeling all this was because of this virtu software.

    Anything else I should try?

    Btw, specs are in the sig.
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2013
  2. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    That happened to me when I installed Windows 8 for the first time. I was getting black screen after login, had to reset and it happened again right after because I didn't know what was wrong... Guess what, Windows update was automatically installing the drivers for the card and I guess they were bugged or something.
    When setting up windows make sure you don't allow to install drivers automatically. And even if it installs make sure you uninstall them and then disable windows update till you download and install the drivers from nvidia website
  3. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    750 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Aha! It could be that. There was driver update in action Center. It didn't give me any information. Just had the option to finish installing the driver. I did not install the update but something could have happened.

    Anyways, what could be the reason for the subsequent issues?
    1. No display even at POST with DVI port #2 (one on the bottom)
    2. No display even at POST with iGPU.

    Any ideas?
  4. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    Well not sure about that, so your stuck there now ? No display not even at post ?
    If you got a RGB cable try it.
    If you manage to login in safe mode make sure you uninstall the drivers through device manager.
    If that doesn't work you'll probably have to reset, if that happens when setting up windows will ask if you want to automatically install/download (don't remember) drivers for devices or something like that. Say no.
    Even if it installs the drivers (for the gpu) uninstall them through device manager then it will ask for a restart. If that restart succeeds thats it. Download drivers from website and do a clean installation.
    Thats what I did when it happened and it worked.
    Anusha says thanks.
  5. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    750 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    I'll give it a shot in a few hours I get home. Will post back with my findings.
  6. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    750 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    it turned out to be a problem with either the DVI ports on the video card (unlikely) or a damaged DVI cable (more likely). I started using HDMI cable and now it all works great.
  7. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ah! OH well at least figured it out :)
  8. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,288 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    724
    than try out a another DVI cable in both the DVI connectors bcs if they still don't boot with a new cable than i would RMA the card even if HDMI works, but i think it's just the cable ^^

    damn i got like 10 or more standart DVI cables lay around i got in the past 2weeks instead of throwing them out all brand new xD
  9. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    750 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    i'll let you know - not that you care anyways - when i get into the mood to search for a DVI cable. :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page