1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte GTX 670 not using full memory in games

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Irony, Jun 11, 2012.

  1. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,664 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    355
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Hey, I got a Gigabyte gtx670, and it seemed to be running okay in most games, but frames were a bit low in Skyrim and Metro on ultra. So I looked at GPU-Z and it shows it is only using like 730mb dedicated memory. Whats the deal, its a 2gb card. Is there a vram limit or something? I haven't seen it go over 736mb in any game.

    Heres a pic:

    [​IMG]


    Also, I can't get any futuremark programs to run. They say "System info initialization error" or something.


    Thanks
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,023 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,762
    try a full clean driver install using Driver Sweeper and install the new WHQL
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,155 (13.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,607
    Going by that screenshot it's not using your GPU either.
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,023 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,762
    he did come off of 6770 CF and so there might be some driver collision issues going on right now if he didnt do a clean driver sweep or clean windows install.
    That looks like a very old version of GPU-z as well.
  5. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,664 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    355
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Reinstall with driversweeper fixed it. Using 1700+ mb in skyrim at ultra now.

    I think what happened was I installed the drivers on the disc that the card came with, (because I didn't want to wait a day for my slow internets to dl current driver) Then when I updated to current 301.42 I think, I didn't reinstall with driversweeper.

    I updated GPU-Z as well.

    New problem: Can't get any overclocking program to show boost clock; or any clock speed for that matter. Or will programs like EVGA precision X and MSi afterburner only show those speeds for their sponsor cards? I.e., do all features of afterburner only work with msi cards? etc.
  6. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    648 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA

    I recommend you roll back to 301.34 beta drivers. The 301.42 seem to give trouble to 670 owners and have no driver benefit from what I have read.

    Driversweeper is important and also cleaning out any Nvidia/AMD driver folders on your C: drive. I originally had trouble with the included drivers on the disc.

    Good luck.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page