1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte High-End P55 Motherboard Pictured

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 27, 2009.

  1. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Actually upon second look that card I linked above is PCI x1 w/ 4 ports. I can't find a single x4 lan card. I can't find any card that's not a video card above x1. And no, I don't think you can put x1 into a x16 slot. I could be wrong though, I'm waiting for some proof.......
     
  2. VIPER

    VIPER

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    191 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Well, sorry, I cannot take put the cards from the servers... The proof is out there, as in the RAID card above...
     
  3. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    :laugh: Wasn't expecting that just a couple of links. I'll just take your word for it though and admit I'm wrong, and those slots would come in useful after all.
     
  4. Apocolypse007

    Apocolypse007 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    615 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    New Sewickley, PA
    I'm 99% sure you can put smaller PCI-e cards into a PCI-e X16 slot. I haven't tried it, but have heard many times of it being done.
     
  5. Zehnsucht

    Zehnsucht New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    439 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    A PCIe card will fit into a connector which has equal or bigger size, but not the other way around.
    I.e. a 1x card can fit into 1x, 4x, 8x and 16x slot
    An 8x card can fit 8x and 16x slot.
     
  6. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Yeah I just read that in wiki, seems odd but hey that's nice. Now I'm not sure why they have x1 slots on there. :laugh: Still can't find any non video cards at more than 1x though......
     
  7. VIPER

    VIPER

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    191 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    We have other servers with a lot of PCI-Express 1x inside. No matter the slot is 16x, 8x or 4x. Of course they work, they are pin-by-pin compatible.
     
  8. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    What is the deal with the NAND Flash slots on these new boards?? (The black slot next to the floppy). I have seen a few preview shots of boards with this, but no explanation as to its use/interface. Any ideas? :confused:
     
  9. madrooster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Near the ram slots, that's an IDE port. The black thing next to it, is a SSD slot. This is for the (I think it's called Braidwood) technology.

    The floppy is down near where the firewire/USB headers are.
     
  10. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
  11. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    we're all waiting intel:)
    come on now! Even the mobo companies can't wait:D
     
  12. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Even other way around, if the PCIe-slot is open ended (or you make it like one). Obviously the card can't work faster than the slot it is in.
     
  13. Assimilator

    Assimilator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    645 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    South Africa
    How come there were 10+ replies after I wrote that that said the exact same thing? :p

    And to prove it, I have a PCIe 4x 8-port SATA RAID controller card that has been running perfectly happily in the 16x slot of an Intel Guardfish mobo for over a year.
     
  14. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    B/c I didn't believe you. :D And didn't know what I was talking about.
     
  15. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    That board looks absolutely nasty! I wish they could make a higher quality X58 :p
     
  16. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,182 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    it is same old UD3 coolers with disable the old SB cooler
     
  17. GFC Guest

    None. Well, there is DMI instead of QPI, and.. maybe different clocks for uncore and stuff like that, but the architecture is identical, and i bet the performance [most of the time] will be the same too.
     
  18. REVHEAD New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    300 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney/ Australia
    Yep, I do it all the time, my Asus Xonar 1.3 is in a 16x slot running@ 1x.
     
  19. HeadlessChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    62 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page