1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Going to Intel. Cpu advice needed.

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by BrooksyX, Dec 21, 2008.

  1. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Alright I decided it was finally time to jump ship to the Intel side with the current prices being so good. Now I just need to figure out what cpu will suit me and my budget best. I do plan on doing some moderate overclocking but nothing to extreme.

    My current CPU is an AMD Athlon X2 5000+ BE at 3.0ghz so I want to get something that is going to give me a huge performace increase. I plan on using everything thats in my system specs. Just changing the board and cpu. Here is the motherboard I will be using:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130098


    So here are my current cpu options that I am looking at:

    e5200 - probably not going to give a huge increase
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116072

    e7300 - maybe. What do you guys think?
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115132

    e8400 - huge increase but a q600 is just a little bit more...
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115037

    q6600 - This is what I really want but way more than I want to spend.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115018


    So what do you guys think would be the best cpu for my setup? Maybe a different one? Also do you think the intel prices are going to drop anytime soon with the Phenom II coming out so soon?

    Thanks!!!
     
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,175 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,658
    E7200..they clock better than the 7300
     
  3. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    You can't go wrong with the Q6600 :rockout:
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  4. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  5. techjunkie

    techjunkie New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    173 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Q6600 all the way. Its worth the money and is the best bang for buck out there IMHO.
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  6. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
  7. techjunkie

    techjunkie New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    173 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    And almost all upcoming games will be multithreaded.
     
  8. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    yeah, i know that but gta 4 is very new and the amount of games that are optimized to have benefits from 4 cores are not much.

    im not saying that the quad is not a bad choose, but is better a fast dual core, at least for now
     
  9. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Man i really want the q6600 but it might just be to much money.

    How much better is the e7200/e7300 than my current 5000 x2?

    Oh and as for gaming I don't do to much. Mostly just a little CSS and HL2 but of course I want the option to play newer games.
     
  10. _jM

    _jM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Ocala,FL
    For a budget CPU the E5200 is an awsome chip.. you can clock it to E8400/8500 speeds with no problems.. only difference is the L2 Cache... other than that you cant beat that chip as far as price to performance ratio... and this is speaking from experience :D
     
  11. boredgunner

    boredgunner

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    142 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Лиманск
    An E7200/E7300 is a worthy upgrade to any AMD Dual Core processor. I have an E8400 processor, and on my cheap CPU cooler I got it to 3.6 ghz. It still runs cool. You should really look into it. The E8500 is the same processor but it costs a little more and runs a little faster. They both have the same overclocking potential. The E8600 (probably out of your price range), does overclock better. It isn't an overpriced scam product. The Q6600 is a good choice if you're into quad core processors, but the downsides are the amount of heat it gives off (mainly if you overclock) and its slow default speeds. I'd probably recommend the Q6600 since it's a quad core and has a larger L2 cache than the E8400. Sure it will run hotter but people commonly get their Q6600's to the mid 3 ghz area. If you're a professional overclocker you may be able to reach and exceed 4 ghz (not by much, and don't get your hopes up if you have air cooling).

    Oh I recommend staying away from the Q8200, it's junk.
     
  12. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,500 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Go with the i7 and live on the edge
     
  13. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    +1 :D
     
    _jM says thanks.
  14. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Trust me if I had the money I would.

    As for the e5200 I just think its to low end to be that big of an upgrade from my athlon x2.

    I think I am gonna try and pick up a used e7300 unless I can get a deal on a used q6600.
     
  15. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Guys is $125 shipped a good deal for a used e8400. I found one for this price but need to know quick!!!
     
  16. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    That is a sweet deal but man you should get the Q6600 far better IMHO :rockout:
     
  17. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Well I guess I will have to decide after I get back from work (only 4 hours). Hopefully I can make it there and back its snowing like crazy outside right now.
     
  18. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Yay doesn't look like I have to work after all. My work just called and said they were closing early and that if I did come in it would only be for two hours because of the snow. Talk about a waste of a trip.

    Its snowing like crazy right now. Almost a whole foot! That may not seem like a lot to some of you guys but thats a crazy amount for where I live. (Just minutes north of Portland, OR)
     
  19. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    why not Phenom 2? If you are a AMD fan its a good choice, its about as good as a q6600/q9450/q9550.
     
  20. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.

    HAHA I used to like in Portland OR ! You must be in Vancouver WA then . I now live in Santa Fe and well we get way more snow than you up there . :eek:
     
  21. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    My motherboard won't support AM2+/AM3 and I already have the intel motherboard.
     
  22. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    It is just not as good as a Q6600 IMHO . :D
     
  23. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Yep good ol Vancouver. Gotta love it. I think its almost getting too crowded though. One of the fastest growing areas in the Pacific Northwest.
     
  24. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    if u have the board then yea, gotta go intel.


    P2 is about equal with a Q6600 but the latter will prolly overclock somewhat better.
     
  25. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    LOL . if you can get that CPU then do so , If you can wait get the Quad it is far better IMHO .
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page