1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

gpu-z and detecting radeon Opencl

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by Dandel, Feb 12, 2010.

  1. Dandel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    102 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I did a few tests and found that OpenCL with radeon cards is not always correctly done, even though the OpenCL driver is for the radeon cards is installed...

    [​IMG]
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,790 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,491
    where is your opencl.dll located?
  3. Dandel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    102 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I know that when I wanted to run OpenCL i had to install the Stream SDK, and here's the install location for my copy of windows for the two dll files...

    64-bit windows 7 (32-bit dll): C:\Program Files (x86)\ATI Stream\bin\x86
    64-bit windows 7 (64-bit dll): C:\Program Files (x86)\ATI Stream\bin\x86_64

    Edit:
    I forgot to mention that the AMD Stream SDK is required for OpenCL to work on ATI video cards, and it's also known that OpenCL ICD support is required to get OpenCL working even halfway decently.
    AMD Stream SDK Download
    AMD KB71 - Updating your OpenCL™ code to work with the OpenCL™ ICD
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2010
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,790 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,491
    well i guess that's why gpuz can't find the dll .. it tells windows "load opencl.dll" (see the loadlibrary documentation on msdn, where windows looks).

    as far as i know that's the suggested approach by khronos and works perfectly fine on nvidia.

    If ati can't get their act together, too bad for them
  5. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    884 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    OpenCl works just fine on Ati cards and GPU-Z detection also works. I have a radeon hd4870, installed the latest Ati drivers and stream sdk, and get the OpenCL tick in gpu-z and can do calculations using directcompute & opencl benchmark with no problems whatsoever.
  6. Dandel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    102 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I updated the configuration, and gpuz still does not work... I'm wondering if this issue is ATI Radeon and AMD cpu related.

    on a quick side note, I ran the ATI OpenCL information tool provided with the stream sdk, and the output reads one platform and two devices (one cpu, the other a gpu by which it's called "Juniper").
  7. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,921 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    483
    Same thing here too with my HD5770 the DC and opencl bench works fine though both benchies work as they should
  8. Rik55

    Rik55 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    54 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    @Dandel

    you've got the old Stream 2.0.0 installed. Uninstal and download the newer ATI Stream 2.0.1. This places the OpenCL file in the correct location.
  9. Dandel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    102 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    @Rik55, When i said I Updated my configuration that should of been a clue that i was installing updated Catalyst Drivers (Version 10.1) and reinstalling the Stream SDK (Version 2.0.1). The problem still persists on this configuration.

    @Athlonite Which version of the catalyst drivers did you try, and what version of the stream do you have installed ?
  10. Rik55

    Rik55 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    54 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    @Danel.
    When the new StreamSDK2.0.1 (released 11th Feb 2010) is installed the location of the OpenCL files is in the C:/Windows/System32 & C:/Windows/SysWOW64 folders.

    try this newer build of GPUz.0.3.8 which fixed some bugs. (this is the version i'm using which ticks OpenCL in GPUz & i'm using Cat10.1, StreamSDK2.0.1 & Win7x64)
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=32617&d=1264757722
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2010
    Dandel says thanks.
  11. Dandel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    102 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    OK, that was actually helpful Rik55, the updated GPU-Z v0.3.8 (Signed on Jan 29, 2010) actually detects OpenCL properly on my system. However, GPU-Z v0.3.8 (Signed on Dec ‎01, ‎2009 [Currently last one mentioned in the test build forum]) did not.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page