1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z and GTS 250?

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by SeanG, Mar 28, 2009.

  1. SeanG New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    184 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I figured since gpu-z atleast reads my card as a GTS 250 instead of a 9800gtx/9800gtx+,it would have the right revision and die size on it.Is this ever going to be fixed?


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2009
  2. SeanG New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    184 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Is this something evga has to fix in thier bios,or is it something thats imbedded in the card from nvidia?I mean if its the bios,I dont know why evga or the other companys cant fix it to read right?:cool:
     
  3. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Due to the BIOS on the card, GPU-Z is likely "fooled" as it recognises the card as a GTS250, and pulls up hardware details (assuming) in its own database for a GTS250.
     
  4. largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,780 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Do you actually know that your card would be a B1 55nm? It's possible it's not.
     
  5. SeanG New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    184 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11

    Well unless nvidia is lieing to everybody it is.I doubt theres any such thing as a 65nm 250.:cool:
     
  6. sam_217 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nonsense, GTS250 uses the same chip asi 9800GTX+ clocked to 738MHz, this chip is manifactured by 55nm manufacturing process, this is mistake of GPU-Z, which still can not identify nvidia GTS250 right.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2009
  7. SteveJK

    SteveJK New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have an XFX 9800 GTX+ 55nm and I have the same issue, i've signaled the bug ;)

    p.s.
    Chip name: G92-421-B1
     
  8. richardbel

    richardbel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    261 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    vancouver
    woah nice info steve.. :D
     
  9. Evo85

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    459 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Indy, IN
    It sees my GTS 250 correctly.....:confused:
     
  10. SteveJK

    SteveJK New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    good to help... when I saw 65 nm on GPU-Z for my new 9800 gtx+, I've started swearing :shadedshu

    Now that I've installed the Accelero S1, i'm pretty relaxed

    OT: The stock cooler of XFX is a total fail: noisy and unefficent.

    T° Ambient: 28°C
    Stock values
    Idle: 45°C @ 50+% fan speed (untollerable)
    Company of Heroes session: 70+°C @ 80+% fan speed (100% headache)

    Rivatuner operated
    Idle: 50°C @ 25% fan speed (little quite)
    Company of Heroes session: 78°C @ 35% fan speed (a little more noiser, but tollerable)

    Arctic Cooling Accelero S1 rev. 2
    Idle: 41°C - fanless
    Company of Heroes session: 59°C - fanless

    Simply amazing ;)
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2009
  11. Evo85

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    459 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Indy, IN
    I ran GPU-Z last night after I got my modded cooler done. I was wrong, it does report the wrong die size... :eek: :banghead:
     
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,044 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,105
    This issue can not be fixed. It is nVidia's fault, they did not change the GPUID when then moved from the 65nm G92 to the 55nm G92b. They did this so that the G92b would be a direct drop in replacement for the G92, with no other modification of the card necessary to support it.

    That means no software can accurately destiquish between the 65nm and 55nm core. So GPU-z just assumes the worst and says 65nm, the only way to be for sure on any G92 card is to pull the heatsink and check yourself.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page