1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 280 + Danger Den water block OC 783/16201/1404

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by rampage, Dec 11, 2008.

  1. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    Hi all, i received my early xmas presy (my danger den gtx 280 water block) last night so today after work i decided to OC my BFG GTX 280 OC and see how far it would

    these are not finial numbers but at least i know it goes this far

    core : 783
    Sharers : 1620
    Memory : 1404

    on the 180.48 drivers with a max temp of 39c LOAD (please not the the cpu has stuck sensors and 36 / 29 are the lowest temps it reads)

    screen shots are below, i will do some more testing, benchmarks and verification later tonight when i get out of bed (if i can get the cpu up to 4.7ghz again) and see what she can do

    btw the water loop is in this order

    pump > gtx 280 > cpu > 360mm rad > 240 mm rad > pump
     

    Attached Files:

  2. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    Wow! Those are some impressive OC's for a 280. I can hit 810 core and 1620 shaders on my watercooled GTX260 but the 260's tend to OC better than the 280's (less shaders... less heat).

    One piece of advice from my GTX260 experience. It is possible that you achieve what you think is stability using ATI-Tool or Furmark but once you get into some gaming you find issues. For example at 810/1620 I can benchmark and run Furmark for hours on end with no artifacts or issues. But if I fire up a game then within about 30 minutes I get a crash right back to a reboot).

    Anyways... good work. That is one monster card you have there.
     
  3. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    yeah thanks im happy with my lil baby :p i will jump into some COD WaW and see what happens
     
  4. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    991
    Location:
    Miami
    sweet case... just put the loop back together? i see napkins :p
     
  5. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    No no no... Those are EMI absorbing sponges. You wring out the EMI every 3 months... problem is when you do every piece of electronics in the house crashes...

    :laugh:
     
  6. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    991
    Location:
    Miami
    :roll: do you have to wear lead boxers?
     
  7. kyle2020 Guest

    Rampage - can i just ask, is that a triple rad up top in your cosmos? I take it you have modded the roof?
     
  8. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    lol i just put the loop back together and couldn't be stuffed with leak testing hence the paper towel ..lol

    oh i forgot to say that the pump is on minimum as well ;)

    kyle2020 the rad is a 360mm rad, its a Swiftech MCR320-QP with just a couple of quiet fans on it, with no special mods done to it

    added pic of the cosmos roof hack for kyle2020
     

    Attached Files:

    Alv says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page