1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gtx 580 oc

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by va4leo, Jan 28, 2011.

  1. va4leo

    va4leo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    284 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    London
    Hey.

    Thought I would OC my card just to see what the cooler (Arctic Cooling Xtreme Plus) could do. I did not change any voltages, just the clocks and ran a quick 10 minute furmark (will run an hour later). I do not have much experience clocking graphics or CPU for that matter. They are set at 930 / 1860 / 2300 at the moment. I tried 950 / x / 2400 but this caused an nvlddmkm.sys stopped working popup.

    A couple of questions:
    1. Is furmark not suitable to stress the 500 series? What should i use instead?
    2. Where do i go from here?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    yeah your card powers down in furmark... best thing to do is play a ton of games anyway.
     
  3. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Crysis Warhead dx10 tend to push stability. Heaven as well. The moment it 'drivers stopped working' or hangs, means you have unstable oc.
     
  4. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Older versions of furmark do not power down the card....I use version 1.0 of Furmark the card does not throttle.......temps will blow up on you with no throttling....be mindful and don't leave the PC unattended or you may come back to a fried card......and use MSI Afterburner for your overclocking...it has voltage adjustment in it.

    Hope it helps. :)
     
    va4leo says thanks.
  5. LDNL

    LDNL

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    467 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    Finland
    Older furmark, 3dmark vantage, 3dmark 11, some crysis for a few loops and if you freeze or start seeing snow give the voltage a small bump with afterburner and try again
     
  6. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    what the other guys have said is great advice, throw some other games and benchmark loops at it and see if its stable and doesnt artifact.

    I bet you'll see some great temps with that cooler on it too, leaving you room to start cranking up the core votlage in order to raise the GPU clock past whatever stability wall you reach on stock voltage.
     
  7. va4leo

    va4leo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    284 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    London
    What kind of voltage are you guys thinking is safe if the card will be folding (as long as its on) other than when i am gaming (about an hour on weekdays and lots of weekend). PC is on for just over 15 hours a day.
     
  8. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Max voltage is 1.150v unless you flash your card to unlock the full 1.250v limit.

    I've done bench runs with 1.150 on the standard cooler in my low temp basement with no issues.....with your better cooler you shouldn't have any Issues.

    Hope it helps. :)
     
    va4leo says thanks.
  9. va4leo

    va4leo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    284 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    London
    Will use E-leet to push it to 1.15v then =D
     
  10. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY

    E-Leet to do your voltage and precision to OC....MSI Afterburner has both abilities in one app.....much better if you ask me...and works on non MSI cards as well. :toast:

    Hope it helps. :)
     
  11. va4leo

    va4leo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    284 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    London
    oooooooook ill cave in! :p

    Thanks for help!

    Tried it...but the Voltage slider is greyed out even though i "unlocked". =(

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2011
  12. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,436 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    587
    Location:
    AZ
    you sure that's the latest version? should have voltage control with a 580.
     
  13. va4leo

    va4leo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    284 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    London
    2.0.0
     
  14. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,436 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    587
    Location:
    AZ
    va4leo says thanks.
  15. va4leo

    va4leo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    284 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    London
    Thanks. That worked like a charm!

    Does this look ok? I could not push the clocks any further. Reduced the Voltage to allow for those clocks. Ended up with 900 / 1800 / 2230 on 1.038V.

    [​IMG]
     
    yogurt_21 says thanks.
  16. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,436 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    587
    Location:
    AZ
    looks good
     
  17. va4leo

    va4leo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    284 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    London
    That is only OC Scanner...still need to run heaven etc... WIll do when i feel like staring at a screen for hours....stock clocks for now xD
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page