1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gulftown Product Name and Tentative Price Surfaces

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Dec 14, 2009.

  1. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,212 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    983
    Location:
    Miami
    i can feel it now... a 5.0+ghz quad system (HT off for extra MHZ)... some DDR3 ram... a couple of nvidia's fuzziest ferbi's in sli... and an old @ss spindle HDD bc i spent all my money on CPU and GFX.
     
  2. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I want to see what AMD has to offer in 2010 before deciding whether or not I want to switch platforms. I just went from i7 to AM3 and don't want to do it again.
     
  3. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,897 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Singapore
    from what I understand the 930 is just a filler to widen te gap in performance between lga1155 and lga1366 nothing else...
     
  4. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,464 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Perhaps in that market segment. But if you don't want to wait...

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
  6. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Does anybody know if they will release a 6 core for the 1156 platform?

    Edit:
    Just saw Binges post. Any pics or news of the new i5?
     
  7. SummerDays New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    I can't believe what a great processor the i7 920 has been. For $300 it was the best value around. You'd spend that much at least on a graphics card. They should actually deliver them without the fans, so people will be forced to put a decent cooling system in.

    The idiots at the computer store told us we making a mistake buying on. lol

    The i7 980 is $1000 to keep them out of the hands of people who don't need them. :laugh:

    Question:

    1. Will you be able to set the QPI to 6.4T and automatically choose the memory speed with the 930 without having to alter the base clock like the 920?
     
  8. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Why would you have to change the base clock in a 920 to get higher memory speeds? You only have to change the memory multiplier and uncore multiplier to get higher/lower speeds on the 920. If you are talking about changing memory speeds to something odd like 1779 at stock speeds then you will have to change the BCLK, and you would have to change the BCLK on an EE chip as well. The BCLK and memory speeds are linked.
     
  9. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,464 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
  10. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Ahhhh sorry that just confused me. It still means that there isn't for an "i9" at the moment, so I'm not too disappointed in the missing pic.
     
  11. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'm wondering if there may be some 6 core Xeons for LGA 1156. Hmm...
     
  12. SummerDays New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Originaly the i7 920 was supposed to be locked so that it would only work with 1066 Mhz or under ram, because using faster ram causes the uncore (I take it) to heat up more. Much like increasing the cpu multiplier is locked today.

    The QPI was also supposed to be locked to only 4.8T, but we now see that it can be increased to the 965s 6.4T.

    Whether or not this story was the result of an engineering sample being used by the press and then reported, or an attempt by Intel to make sure that spec ram was used which was followed by an outcry from memory manufacturers, I can't say.
     
  13. Initialised

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    264 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Where are the i3s and the new Pentium on that chart?

    You didn't get this from Fud or BSNews or Semi Articulate did you?

    EDIT-NVM Fud sourced cannot always be trusted, hence the inaccuracy and omissions.
     
  14. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    The QPI is still locked at 4.8, and the 920 with locked memory speeds was a rumor. Within weeks of the rumor being released it was squashed by leaked ES benchmarks.
     
  15. SummerDays New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    The QPI is not locked at 4.8T.
     
  16. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    You kidding? Of course there are.

    6-core Xeon - HERE I COME! :rockout:
     
  17. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,464 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    ^ Mind pointing out some to the rest of us? :)
     
  18. Initialised

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    264 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Most board vendors got around this with BIOS updates, technically it was multiplier locked rather than hard locked and part of the 920/940/950/960 OC potential comes from running lower QPI as standard compared to the higher QPI on 965/975s.

    Any way, all the leaked data I've seen suggests a 3.07 CPU will exist, so either all the ES are set a couple of multipliers lower than retail or the source is wrong. Given the omission of i3/Pentium data I suggest the latter.
     
  19. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Prove it. I can most assuredly prove you wrong.
     
  20. Initialised

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    264 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I am also a little perplexed by RealTempGT reporting it as i9 and CPU-Z listing i7. I wouldn't be surprised if Intel stuck with i7 but this removes product differentiation. I'd like to see an EE with 3.33 and higher QPI as well as the 3.07GHz CPU at a more reasonable price. I suspect it is pre CES positioning so they can show something 'unexpected'.
     
  21. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    There's an option in my bios that allows me to change the QPI to 6.4. Not sure if it works but I will do some tests.
     
  22. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Im wondering the same thing honestly. :toast:
     
  23. SummerDays New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Before you do that, make sure your base clock is set back to the standard 133 Mhz.
     
  24. SummerDays New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Please prove that I am wrong. I humbly await your proof!
     
  25. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    So the Only 32nm CPU is the 980X that will cost about $1000?
    Typical for Intel to have the only 32nm CPU and jack up the price :/

    So will this be the only 32nm?
    And would love to see a Xeon aswell
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page