1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Happy 4870 User - But would like a new BIOS!

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by IceRich, Dec 5, 2008.

  1. IceRich New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi all,

    I have had my 4870 Sapphire 512mb ATI card for a few months now and its great. I have fitted a T-Rad2 and temps are now low. I have flashed the bios with that new one Sapphire released not to long back.

    At the moment I put my clocks down to the minimum through cat control center (500/450) and move them to defaults when gaming. I would love to create a BIOS which has better power efficiency i.e automatically adjust the core/mem speeds when needed. And whilst in 2d mode have the clocks set to even lower what the cat center will allow me.

    Can anyone offer any help?

    Kind regards,

    Rich
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    I anticipate a fella named FastMix posting up in here shortly.. or seek him out here, he has some very nice bios' for you card.:toast:
     
    IceRich says thanks.
  3. IceRich New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks for your reply erocker,

    I have seen some of his posts, I may indeed seek him out - if he don't find me first ;)
     
  4. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    I guess I found you first.

    There are 3 bioses attached to my signature, I use the second one but if you want higher clocks..go for the third one.;)
     
    IceRich says thanks.
  5. IceRich New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks Fastmix,

    What I am looking for really is more efficiency rather then extra volts (less volts really) or clock speed - unless gaming when I would like default clocks. What would you suggest I use? As said earlier, the one I am using now is that recently released Sapphire one :)

    Also, I flashed my card last time through windows using a package someone made and it automatically installed through DOS, would you recommend doing it via the usb route next time. I have my card in PCIe slot 2 (if that makes any difference).

    Thanks
     
  6. Squark

    Squark New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Merry ol' England
    Are there any new BIOSs for the 4870X2?
    I seem to have the crashing problems reported by 4870 owners with my X2

    It it possible to lower the 2D clocks without a BIOS flash, mine are currently 300Mhz and 34°c
    I'll post up how once I've remembered how to do it :)

    (For me in Vista)
    C:\Users\*name*\AppData\Local\ATI\ACE\Profiles
    Open the XML file of the CCC profiles in note pad and change:

    <Feature name="CoreClockTarget_0">
    <Property name="Want_0" value="50700" />
    <Property name="Want_1" value="80000" />
    </Feature>
    <Feature name="MemoryClockTarget_0">
    <Property name="Want_0" value="50000" />
    <Property name="Want_1" value="96000" />

    <Feature name="CoreClockTarget_1">
    <Property name="Want_0" value="50700" />
    <Property name="Want_1" value="80000" />
    </Feature>
    <Feature name="MemoryClockTarget_1">
    <Property name="Want_0" value="50000" />
    <Property name="Want_1" value="96000" />

    Edit the '50700 and 50000 values to the desired clock (I use 30000 - 300Mhz)
     
  7. justinavril

    justinavril New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shanghai, China
    Wired! My 4850 can go to higher core/mem automatically. According to my practice, you'd better not set the Vol too low, and please have a look at my bois setting.

    [​IMG]

    The two red panes I connected, actually, have some relations. And I found that we can not save our setting in the PP states structure. Maybe it's a bug.

    Anyway, you can low down the clock, but do not low down the Vol too much.
     
  8. IceRich New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi guys,

    Im now using a 4870 bios Fastmix posted (his second one in sig). I can't remember my exact power draw on the stock bios but im pretty sure im seeing an improvement. What do you guys think?

    [​IMG]

    Would it be possible though to have 2d clocks reduced further?

    Thanks,
     
  9. IceRich New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Any input :( ?
     
  10. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    much better than my 4870 ever was for low heat output / low power consumption
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page